Looking back and looking forward

So, New Year’s has come and gone, and it has been a solid two months since I last posted anything on this blog. So maybe it’s about time that I fixed that!

Looking back

2016 has been a year which for me wasn’t a great reading year and an even worse blogging year. I’ve struggled and failed at my goodreads goal of reading 52 books. I only read 45 books in 2016 and I don’t even know how few of those I’ve reviewed (and I’m not inclined to check the stats on that one either!). It has been a year for me personally where I have also struggled to find what I want to blog about and how to go about that. But besides blogging I did do a lot of fun stuff this year. I went to Ireland and La Gomera, I ran a 10K, had a real good time with my friends, and turned 25 to boot.

Looking forward

Nobody can look into the future, but that won’t stop me from trying to set some sort of goals for 2017. Once again I set my reading goal for 52 books (and have yet to finish reading my first book of the year, so it’s looking good on that one already!). I also want to get back into running (because I haven’t run since that 10K and that’s just a shame!). I also hope to find my blogging mojo again as well as my love for reading.

The bigger picture

2016 has been a year in which a lot of things happened globally speaking, and from looking at the news most of if wasn’t all that good (or I can just go ahead and say that a lot of it was really bad actually). So I just wanted to say that I think 2017 should be a year where we try to look at the positive things in life, without ignoring the bad, and find a way of giving our life meaning in profoundly positive ways. Let’s not let hate become part of our life, but find love wherever we go.

 

Have you set any reading goals for 2017? What are your thoughts on 2016? Let me know in the comments below!

 

2 thoughts on “Looking back and looking forward

  1. Good luck with your reading goals this year! I just set my Goodreads challenge to 100, but it’s not a huge deal to me whether I meet it or not. I like to keep reading fun, and for me that means not stressing out too much about things I feel I “have” to do when, in the end, it’s a hobby.

    • You’re so right about it being a hobby and needing to stay fun! I’m actually just like you, I don’t really care that much about my reading goals. I used to care so much more, but it became a bit too stressful to care that much, so I stopped ;) But I like setting one, regardless of whether I meet it in the end or not.

Say something!

