Review: The invasion by K.A. Applegate (Animorphs # 1)

The Invasion (Animorphs, #1)

The story in 50 words or less:

Five kids are witness to a horrible incident concerning aliens and they come out with the ability to morph into animals. Also, they now carry the burden of trying to save the world from an alien invasion.

My take on the book:

 

I read a couple of the books in this series back when I was in middle school, though I missed a lot of them (because my library never had the right ones in when I needed them!). And even though I hadn’t even come close to reading half of the books in the series, I did really enjoy them. So I decided to pick them back up. And this time I would be reading them in order!

I really enjoyed this book a lot. It’s just so entertaining! Jake may not be my favorite character in the book, but he’s not unlikable either, so I didn’t mind that this book was told from his point of view. The story moves quickly and there’s just no boring moment really. Things are just constantly happening during the (short) span of this book.  The writing isn’t anything special, but it’s definitely not bad either.
This book is just the beginning of a very vast series and it just makes me excited to check out the other books. All the books are told from different point of views and I can’t wait to find out how their voice brings something extra to the story. Plus I’m really excited to find out how these books will evolve and where the story will go.

My rating:

3 stars ~ A very entertaining book with average writing.  All in all, some very enjoyable middle grade books!

Have you read this book? Have you read this series? What are your thoughts on it?
One thought on “Review: The invasion by K.A. Applegate (Animorphs # 1)

  1. Pingback: Review: Animorphs #2-5 | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

Say something!

