New on My Shelf #2

So this feature is where I tell you which books I have added to my ever-growing TBR-list on Goodreads and why I felt inclined to add it. Sometimes it may also include books that I bought and other times it might be about books I’m getting rid of (physical books or TBR-books). I will include a couple of keywords for every book(though as I’ve not read it yet I’m just pretty much guessing about all of this based on the synopsis) but will always link to the goodreads page as well. Let’s get this party started!

Added to my TBR:

Ico: Castle in the Mist

Ico: Castle in the Mist

Keywords: inspired by a video game, locked in castle

Okay, first-off I know those aren’t technically keywords (they are more of the key-phrase variety, but it’s my blog, so I do what I want). Secondly, this is just something that I had to add to my TBR, because I just really loved this game! I was really horrible at it, and it scared me sometimes, but I thought it was really intriguing and would love to find out more about the story behind this game, which is exactly what this book offers.

In Search of Lost Dragons

In Search of Lost Dragons

Keywords: Dragons!, journey, artwork

So dragons are epic, that much everyone should know. And here we have a book that gives us some beautiful dragon-centered artwork from the viewpoint of a reporter who is on a journey to find dragons. And I have seen some of the artwork (also, there are maps in this book!) so I’m sure this is gonna be a great book, if only for all the dragons alone!

City of Saints and Madmen (Ambergris, #1)

City of Saints and Madmen

Keywords: collection of stories, puzzling, hard to grasp

Once again not strictly keywords, but this book was so difficult to compress in just a couple of words. The synopsis on goodreads stays pretty vague but intrigues me so much. I have to admit that this book will probably be a hit or a miss for a lot of people because it seems like it could get quite weird. But I am really interested in this book and that’s why I added it to my TBR. Also, did you notice that gorgeous cover? I also really like the title. I might be a teensy bit shallow.

Forbidden (The Books of Mortals, #1)

Forbidden

Keywords: post-apocalyptic, zombie-esque, cure

It’s been quite some time since I have read a book about zombies, and though these aren’t “really” zombies, they pretty much qualify as such. The premise looked pretty interesting, tough decisions to be made (what with the cure and all). It seems like it will be part of a series, which can be awesome or really disappointing, depending on how this first book turns out. So here’s to hoping that this book is great and subsequently followed by some great other books!

Tigana

Tigana

Keywords: psychological warfare, grief-stricken sorcerer, 2 conquerors

So this is obviously a fantasy book, published in 1990 (this book is older than me?!), and it has a great rating on goodreads (4.1!). It’s also a stand alone book, which is not something you find all that regularly in fantasy, so that’s cool. It’s about two dueling armies, there’s magic involved, psychological warfare, etc. By putting this on my TBR I am hoping to find a fantasy book with a rich world, fleshed out characters, a moving plotline (or more!) and no silly in-between books you sometimes get in series.

Have you been adding books to your TBR recently? If so, which ones (maybe I should add them too?!)? Are any of the books I’ve added on your TBR as well?

Say something!

