Leaving a sentence hanging #1

So this is a very short feature, but I thought it would be kind of fun. So i just Pick up a book from one of my shelves and go to a certain arbitrary page (28) and pick an arbitrary sentence (4) and quote that here and talk about it. And next time, I’ll do it all over again, same page, same sentence,  just with a different book.

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard, #1)

Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

So great was the fame of Father Chains, the Eyeless Priest, that even Locke Lamora had heard of him; a man of late middle years with a chest as broad as a scrivener’s desk and a beard that clung to his craggy face like a pad of scrubbing wool.

I only recently acquired this book and I haven’t read it yet, but this random sentence is already making me super excited for it! I am stoked to find out more about this Eyeless Priest. I love the description of Locke also, he sounds like a very different protagonist which is nice, because changing it up keeps things fresh. This book just jumped to a very high place on the “books that I will be reading soon”-list.

Have you read this book? Is it representative for what the book will read like?

3 thoughts on “Leaving a sentence hanging #1

  1. I did something similar on my blog, which I first saw on Facebook. Basically you pick up the nearest book to you and read the first sentence on page 206, and that sentence describes your love life. Unable to resist, mine was The Heart Is A Lonely Hunter which read:
    Business picked up around five.
    It tickled me :) Other people’s were similarly comical.

  2. This book was a DNF, but I loved it! How did that happen, you ask? Well, you’ll understand. I was reading another book at the time, simultaneously, and Lies of Locke Lamora kind of got pushed to the side, even though I was really enjoying it. I definitely need to finish the book soon!

    • I have a couple of books like this at the moment so I know very well how this happened to you :) Maybe talking about how much you liked it will be just the thing you need to get back into reading the book!

Say something!

