A very late 2015 wrap-up

Due to my extended hiatus I haven’t been able to (or rather haven’t gotten around to) wrap up last year. So here goes that, and don’t worry it’ll be pretty quick seeing as I didn’t really read all that much last year.

So, for anyone who wants more explanation as to why I set these goals, check out my post in which I set them for myself.

Challenge 1: Goodreads

I set myself the goal of reading 75 books in 2015 and I didn’t make it. It looked like I might be making my goal in the first half of the year, and then I got into a slump and things got out of control. In any case, I ended up reading 64 books. Which is not that bad if you look at it, numberwise. But I have to admit that a good part of these were comics, and it’s not that I don’t think they count, I just want to be honest about these numbers. So I failed this challenge, but not horribly so. And to be honest, I don’t feel that bad about this! Of course it would have been nice if I had succeeded, but hey, it’s not the end of the world.

Challenge 2: Popsugar

 

So this challenge consisted of 50 books that had to fit a certain criteria. And while I really liked the criteria and the idea that it could push me outside of my reading comfort zone. And if I wasn’t such a moodreader that might have worked out better for me. It’s just that I don’t pick up books based on these criteria but on what I feel like reading at the time. If I were to pick up books that I wasn’t feeling, that wouldn’t really work out for me, because I would constantly have to force myself to pick up the book. If I tried I could match a good amount of my 64 read books this year to a lot of the criteria (though perhaps not the one about reading a book by an author with the same initials as yourself. How does one even go about finding this type of book? you can’t really search that, can you?). But I’m not going to force those matches, because I know that I didn’t pick these books because they fitted the criteria (it wouldn’t feel fair).

 

My goals for 2016

So for this year I actually toned down the challenges a bit. This is definitely due to me being stuck in a reading slump at the start of the year as well as my failure to stop being a moodreader. So I set the bar at 52 books on the goodreads challenge. That equals one book a week, which is very do-able for me, or it should be. On the other hand, I am already far behind right now as I am writing up this blogpost. But hey, maybe I’ll finally get out of my reading funk one of these days and just blaze through books at a previously unseen speed! And although the popsugar challenge for this year looks just as good as last years, I just know I won’t do any better than last year, so I just decided not to go there.

 

So if you yourself have set goals for this year (though for you that was probably some time ago) link them in the comments and I’ll see what you are planning for this year!

 

Say something!

