Review: Dragon Age Inquisition

I think this might be the first game I review on here. So I’ll just start with the following small disclaimer: I’m actually a very bad gamer, in the sense that I don’t have amazing insight in games, I don’t have a lot of skills when it comes to gaming either. But I really enjoy it anyway, and that’s all that counts really.

Dragon age inquisition is a highly enjoyable game. I actually bought it on a whim, because it just looked so amazing. I had also heard a lot about the dragon age games, most of which was very good. So I decided to give it a go, and let me tell you that I was not disappointed in the least.

At the beginning of the game you get to “assemble” your hero. It’s definitely a lot more fun to play the whole game with a character you really like the look of (all those scenes!) so it’s wise to spend plenty of time on this. Don’t rush it. A little pro tip from me to you: turn the lip shine way down. I didn’t, and boy did I regret that later (it looks fine in the creator, but in-game it’s way, waaaaaaaaaaay too shiny). I choose to be a warrior elf, while secretly harboring the wish to be a mage or a dwarf (mutually exclusive things; hence my choice), in the end I played with my mage team-mate very often to make up for this though.

The story is a little slow at the start, as it sometimes is in these kind of games. This is usually to allow enough player growth to really enjoy the parts later on (nothing quite as horrible as continuously dying right from the start because you haven’t mastered the combat-mode yet). And for people like me, who have never enjoyed dragon age franchise yet, it’s a great way to dip yourself, slowly and easily, into the lore of the land (which is as rich and bountiful as you could ever wish it to be).Quickly though the story leaves enough room for you to pick up the speed if you want to. There are plenty of quests that help you get ahead, but there’s also plenty of quests for those of us who feel like sticking around and admiring the scenery.

The thing about these quests is that you get to make a lot of decisions. And the thing is, in this game it matters what you decide. I don’t think it will alter the general outcome of the game (actually I’m sure) but it will matter as to how you get there. This makes the game feel more realistic because there will always be consequences to your choices and actions ( I found this out the hard way when I wasn’t able to save a bunch of people from their death).

The graphics in this game were beautiful. There was also a lot of artwork (in the shape of tarot cards for the characters and creatures) which was equally stunning. The story was intriguing. The game-play was good (better than Dragon Age origins which I’m playing right now!) In all honesty I don’t know why you’re still reading this instead of checking out this game if you haven’t already. And if you have, why not play it again with a completely different character who takes action in ways you choose to forgo last time? That’s what I’ll be doing anyway. The game is just so huge and with so many variables, it’s well worth to be played at least twice!

2 thoughts on “Review: Dragon Age Inquisition

  1. I loved this game. I’ve loved the entire series. I still havnt finished it but I’m looking forward to seeing how it all ends. A buddy of mind did his own review on our site if you ever want to take a look. Thanks for the great read.

Say something!

