Review: Wise man’s fear -Patrick Rothfuss

The Wise Man's Fear  (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #2)

The Wise Man’s Fear

(The Kingkiller Chronicle #2)

Patrick Rothfuss

Kvothe’s adventure continues and how! So much happens in the course of this book! Kvothe apparently had a really full and most interesting life. It’s a great one to read about, though I’m not so sure that I would want to be a part of it. Maybe as the part of the best friend or something, that way I’d hear about everything while not being in the midst of it all.

I really loved that we got a much wider scope of the world in this book, that’s not to say that we didn’t have this in the last book as well, but there is just even more expansion here. We got to meet a lot of different cultures in this world, all with their own customs, currency and even fashion. It was really enjoyable to find out more about the whole world in which this story takes place and it just gives the whole book a nice depth to it. And I didn’t really feel any conflicting logic in this world-building. Maybe that’s me not being critical enough about this, or maybe it’s just true.

We also meet a lot of new people over the course of this book and this too is a lot of fun. Through them we don’t only get a better view of what the world and its inhabitants are like, we also get to see more of Kvothe because of how he interacts with them.  To be clear, the new characters are more than just a way to find out more about Kvothe, they all have their own story and motives and it really adds more to the book to have them there.

It’s good that the Wise man’s fear didn’t feel like a weak reiteration of the first book, nor just a set up for the third. This was definitely a book that stood its own wonderfully. Though I will say that during this book at times I felt just a tiny bit lost. This was usually due to the fact that Kvothe just got so utterly absorbed by a situation he was in, he seemed to forget about the rest of the world. This just felt a bit strange to me as it made the story feel like it was taking a short detour every now and then. I’m not saying that these parts in the book were less interesting to read about, but it did feel slightly out of whack with the story as a whole. Maybe it’s just because I’m not used to living in the moment (without any regard as to what might be happening back home or that I really should be getting back to something, my education perhaps) that it felt odd to me to have these parts in the book. There’s definitely one part where I think it really wasn’t odd that he wasn’t thinking about what he left behind (and if you’ve read the book you might agree with me that the magic inherent to that situation would be the cause), but there’s more than one instance after that as well. It feels like Kvothe’s just a leaf on the wind, letting the wind just guide him wherever.

In any case, this book was still a very fun read, and even though it’s not a short book by anyone’s standards, I read it in a pretty short period of time. The third book is definitely on my TBR-list now, though sadly we don’t even know when it’s getting published yet! But when it finally does come out, I will be reading it for sure!

Say something!

