Rambling: Quilting

So I think it might be about time for me to talk about another passion of mine: quilting. While you might not think of this as the most glamorous hobby, let me try to persuade you to change your mind about this. Let me tell you why I, as an unprofessional and pretty recent hand-quilter, like to sew pieces of fabric together and show them to all of my friends.

1. THE COLORS

Honestly this could just be me, but seeing all the things that are out there I hardly doubt it. I love the colors that you shamelessly get to combine while quilting. Obviously this is a very personal thing though. Some people like more laid back colors, or some sober colors, while I’m firmly on the opposite side of the spectrum. I love my colors bright and flashy.

2. THE DESIGN

Designing the quilt is a lot of fun. I always have so many things that I wish I was working on that it’s tough to decide what I’ll start on next.  On Pinterest I have a special quilting board and it’s just bursting to the seams with inspiration for what I could do after this project or maybe the one after that. In some quilts I love the pattern, at other times I’ll love the color combinations. There’s just so many beautiful work out there that sometimes it feels a little daunting to get started myself. But it’s not stopping me. I’m just soldiering on and doing my own thing and getting better with everything that I do. For me the design definitely takes up a good portion of my time. I change my mind pretty often, and I love having things planned pretty far ahead. I also just love the planning, it’s almost as good as the quilting itself.

3. THE WORK ITSELF

For me working on my quilt is therapeutic. It helps me to relax while still keeping me occupied. Once I get started on the patchworking I take my work everywhere with me. I have a multitude of different sized boxes that I stuff with my quilting work and drag along with me pretty much everywhere I go. Sitting in the car for an hour? You bet I’ll be working on my latest project. And how cool is it that at the end of the ride you have created something beautiful that you can share with your friends and family?

4. COMBINING IT WITH READING

Yes, you read that correctly. I combine quilting with reading. How you ask? Audiobooks of course. It’s the perfect combination of passions for me. I have a slight attention deficit problem when it comes to just listening to audiobooks. But if I combine it with working on my quilt, I can actually listen to the story without getting distracted by anything around me. And it helps me to relax even more and get to reading some new books as well (or re-reading Harry Potter because Stephen Fry and his beautiful reading make it worthwhile every time).

5 TIME TO SHARE

DSC_0253[1]

This was the first quilt I ever made. I’m still super happy with the colors in this and how beautiful it came together. DSC_0255[1]DSC_0254[1]

This is the second quilt I made. I used the paper piecing method and fell in love with it. It’s just a lot easier in my opinion, especially when you are using geometric shapes that are more difficult to draw correctly over and over again. Quilt number 3

DSC_0077[1]

This is a pillowcase that I made for my father’s birthday. The colors in this quilt were picked to match his interior (of which I don’t have any picutres, so you’ll have to take my word for it) and it really matches beautifully.

DSC_0250[1]

This is a quilt that I’m working on for a friend. I tried my hand at quilting with my sewing machine and found out that it’s not really my thing. Plus I had some accuracy issues as well, but maybe that was just my lack of technique. In any case, I like using the paper piecing method a lot more.

Say something!

