2014 In Books

It’s always enjoyable to look back on a year of reading, and it’s even more fun to do so together. This event is hosted by Jamie.

reading-stats-2014

Number Of Books You Read: 55
Number of Re-Reads: 7
Genre You Read The Most From: Fantasy
best-YA-books-2014
1. Best Book You Read In 2014?

It would definitely be one of the Codex Alera books.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Throne of Glass. The review will be coming soon. But here’s the quick verdict: I was just expecting the focus of the story to be elsewhere and reality definitely let me down in this. But it was still good, just not as good.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2014?

The ocean at the end of the lane –Neil Gaiman.

I really enjoyed this book immensely and it was just something that didn’t compare to anything I’d read before. I will most definitely be reading more of his books next year.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2014?

Probably any and all Percy Jackson books. I’m still very happy with pushing these books on people, they really deserve to be read.

5. Best series you started in 2014? Best Sequel of 2014? Best Series Ender of 2014?

Obviously I really enjoyed the Codex Alera series. It’s just such good fantasy with the focus lying on those storylines that really mattered to me. The world was also very interesting. The slight downside of this series was the ending. But it really didn’t ruin the series for me.

I also think that “The Silkworm” was a very worthy sequel to “the Cuckoo’s Calling”.


 

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2014?

Jim Butcher? Neil Gaiman? One of those two!

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

I’m going with “The ocean at the end of the Lane” again. It’s just unlike any book I’ve read so far.


 

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Any of the middle books in the Codex Alera series.

9. Book You Read In 2014 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Maybe Ender’s Game to get back into the story so I can continue on to the next book in the series.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2014?

Blankets

I just love this and I loved the book as well.

11. Most memorable character of 2014?

Kitai in the Codex Alera series. She’s definitely a woman after my own heart, I just loved reading the scenes with her that much more.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?

Either “The ocean at the end of the lane” or “the silkworm”. Both of those were really beautifully written and outclass all the other books I’ve read this year.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2014?

“Jonathan Livingston Seagull” or “Blankets”. They both did this in a very different way.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2014 to finally read?

At the risk of sounding like the most original person: The codex Alera series.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2014?

“I lived in books more than I lived anywhere else”- Neil Gaiman, The ocean at the End of the Lane

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

Shortest: “Jonathan Livingston Seagull”

Longest: “Academ’s Fury” (Because “The order of the Phoenix” doesn’t seem to count according to Goodreads. I really need a re-read button on that site!)

17. Book That Shocked You The Most

I don’t think any book really shocked me all that much this year. Better luck next year?

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Rose and Dimitri in Vampire Academy.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Lettie and the protagonist in “The ocean at the end of the lane’’”

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

“The silkworm”

21. Best Book You Read In 2014 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

“Jonathan Livingston Seagull”

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?

Choal from “Throne of Glass”

23. Best 2014 debut you read?

I don’t think I’ve read any debuts this year. But I really liked “the mortis” which was published in 2014, so that will be my pick for this question.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Codex Alera series, or the world in “Throne of Glass” series.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

I had a lot of fun reading the Vampire Academy books, especially the first three.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2014?

“The time traveller’s wife”

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

‘’”Blankets” More people should definitely be reading this book.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

“Blankets”!!

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2014?

“The ocean at the End of the Lane”

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Maybe “Throne of glass” because I just wanted so much more!

.

book-blogging

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2014?

I can’t really say I discovered a lot of new blogs in 2014. Or maybe I just can’t remember.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2014?

I didn’t have all that much fun reviewing books in 2014, and it definitely showed in the amount of books I reviewed on here. So instead of picking a favorite I’m just going to say that I will try harder next year.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

This post is the one that I got most views on: Yay or Nay: Arc’s

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I actually don’t think I participated in that many events. So I pick this one right here!

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014?

I’ve had a bit of a disappointing blogging year because my heart just wasn’t in it, and I didn’t even read that many books this year. So I’m just hoping that next year will be better!

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

Review: The reluctant Jesus

Discussion: Yay or Nay: Arc’s

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Definitely my review on Blankets because that book deserves to be more well-known!

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

I went shopping at a local, independent bookstore more often and I loved it. So I would encourage all of you to do the same!

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I finished my Goodreads reading goal of 50 books. But I can’t say that I’m super pleased with myself because last year I read twice as many books! This year just wasn’t my reading year. But apparently I felt it coming because I didn’t set my goal very high.

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2014 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2015?

The 1q84-series. I am so getting in on that next year!

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2015 (non-debut)?
3. 2015 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?
4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2015?
 
6. A 2015 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

I really don’t follow the new-releases enough to have a most anticipated book for next year I’m afraid.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2015?

Read more, write more. That’s about it Knipogende emoticon

4 thoughts on “2014 In Books

  1. Enjoyed reading this, as a fellow bookworm. Made me think about my own reading journey-I will see what is on my list when I review my 2014 books on Goodreads. I think I will check out Blankets.

    • You really should, I really enjoyed it a lot (obviously). By the way I still have to check out the music you recommended. I just got stuck doing other stuck…
      i’m looking forward to seeing how your reading was this year!

    • I did a lot worse than last year actually so I’m sort of disappointed by that. But I’ll just have to improve next year I guess ;)

      Are you thinking of reviewing your year in books any time soon?

Say something!

