Review: The Maze Runner–James Dashner

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, #1)
The Maze Runner
( The Maze Runner #1)
James Dashner

Goodreads summary:

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.
Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.


Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.
Remember. Survive. Run.

zoo bannerzoo banner

For me this book was definitely a slow starter. I wasn’t really into the story at first, mainly due to the writing style which irked me a little. And the characters! I just didn’t like anyone there. Thomas was just calling people friends but not treating them like friends, everyone was super secretive even though they should have totally understood where all the curiosity came from. These things bothered me and it took me a while to get over them. But I did get over them and once I did the book got better. I think this was also in part due to the fact that there was more action going on later on in the book.

The concept that is at the heart of this book is a bit of a two-sided coin for me. I definitely like the maze and all that, but I’m not so certain of where this book is heading right at the end. This definitely means that I’m hesitant to pick up the next book in this series. On the other hand I think this movie could be really cool in the movie, so I will watch the movie in the immediate future somewhere. II ‘m not 100% sure that the story will be easy to follow, but I just really want to see the maze and all that it encapsulates on the big screen!

 

Have you read the book? What were your thoughts? Did you see the movie? Was that any good? Did it compare to the book very well?

Say something!

