Series Review: Vampire Academy (books 3-6)–Richelle Mead

 
 
Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy, #3) Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, #4)
Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy, #5) Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy, #6)
 
Shadow Kiss
Blood Promise
Spirit Bound
Last Sacrifice
 
Richelle Mead

zoo bannerzoo banner

Previous books in series:

Book 1: Vampire Academy

Book 2: Frostbite

Seeing as I always have less and less to say about consecutive books in a series, mostly to avoid spoilers, I have decided to group up these reviews(catch up on my discussion of series reviews here).This way I still review the books and I don’t have these tiny posts or feel like I have to fill up the review with nonsense.

In general I really enjoyed this series a lot, I liked the characters and the world was interesting. I will say that after the third book parts of the story got a bit predictable. But seeing as there were still some twists thrown in there, it wasn’t too bad in general. Though I liked the first three books better, there was still some good stuff going on in the later books. I loved getting to know the world outside of the institute and the politics that developed in the second half of the series were also interesting.

Something I also really thought was a strong point in this series is that you could really see the characters grow throughout the books, because of the new things they learned and what happens to them in their adventures. I thought this growth also seemed very realistic and had a natural feel to it (as much as anything can feel normal within the context of a vampire centered series).

Can I just mention that I’m not at all a fan of these covers? I like the silhouette of the gates but I don’t like the girl. There’s nothing wrong with her but it more the fact that I’m not a big fan of close ups of people. I like more abstract or artsy covers better and I wish this series had some.

Say something!

