Review: Blankets – Craig Thompson

Blankets
Blankets
Craig Thompson

My rating:

sun

Sun is shinning!!!  Great day to go outside and read this book.

Goodreads summary:

Wrapped in the landscape of a blustery Wisconsin winter, Blankets explores the sibling rivalry of two brothers growing up in the isolated country, and the budding romance of two coming-of-age lovers. A tale of security and discovery, of playfulness and tragedy, of a fall from grace and the origins of faith.

zoo bannerzoo banner

This book is a graphic novel in the true sense of the word. It’s a complex story that is being supported by drawings all the way through. It didn’t have a couple of drawings, it didn’t have a weak storyline but great drawings. It was the beautiful combination of the two storytelling techniques. The drawings really lifted the whole story to a higher level in the way it showed us things that didn’t have to be said. This is especially true for the more difficult scenes in the book. Some things are better shown that straight-out said and this novel did that amiably.

I haven’t read many graphic novels because I’m not always certain about the drawing style or if I’ll love the book. But the drawings in this book spoke to me right away and the fact that I had heard about this book before I saw it at the library did help convince me to pick it up. Once I had the book it didn’t take me very long to start reading it and I just read the whole thing in one fell swoop. Not only was the book just gorgeous to read, but the story was also  captivating.

Things I liked about this book: the characters and the growth they undergo throughout the book, the coming of age storyline, the style of illustrations and the discontinuous storyline.
Things I didn’t like about this book: There wasn’t actually all that much I disliked about this graphic novel. Truthfully I can’t even think about one thing I didn’t like about Blankets.

One thought on “Review: Blankets – Craig Thompson

  1. Pingback: 2014 In Books | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

Say something!

