Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before -Jenny Han

To All the Boys I've Loved Before (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #1)

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #1
Jenny Han

My rating:

sun

Sun is shinning!!!  Great day to go outside and read this book.

Goodreads summary:

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

zoo bannerzoo banner

I have to say that the plot of this book instantly drew me in. And when I finally got around to reading this book, I really enjoyed the characters and their relationships as well. I loved how these letters put Lara Jean’s life upside down and how she just had to find a way to get back on her feet while also finding out what it is she wants. In a way it’s what everyone does in high school but this just enhances the problem a bit I guess. I really loved this book from the get-go and just didn’t want to put it down. I wanted to find out where Lara Jean’s road of self discovery would lead.

The relationships in this books are so much fun to explore because they are so diverse. Her father, both of her sisters, Josh, her best friend and Peter. All of them just bring out these different sides to Lara Jean so we get a fuller picture of who she is, through her interactions with these other people. I really like that Lara Jean is a pretty introverted person, she plays things close to her chest and is not outgoing at all. She’s not like me at all and I enjoyed seeing things from a different perspective. Perhaps she is a bit too much of a goody two shoes for some people, but I like that about her.

Seeing as this book is part of a duology I’m excited to see where this will go. I don’t know if the next book will still follow Lara Jean or if it will switch to someone else. But in any case I’m hoping for some further character growth in all parties involved and I just hope that we get another great book out of it!

Even though I apparently don’t seem to have a lot to say about this book, I really really enjoyed it immensely. It was definitely one of those books that made you forget about what was going on in your own life and just get really interested in this book.

Say something!

