Yay or Nay: Re-reading books

Reading new books is always a gamble, will we like what we find within these pages? But re-reading an old favorite is usually a very rewarding experience seeing as you already know you’re going to like it. Or is it? Because some people don’t re-read books, ever. So let’s look at both sides of this coin and where we fall in this discussion.

Yay

Knowing you love it: This is an obvious pro in my opinion. I can especially need this kind of booster when I’ve just had a couple of not-so great books to read. Because it can be just so disheartening to read books you dislike or just don’t like as much as you wanted. Plus it can really suck the joy out of reading. Reading something you know you love can be a great pick-me-up in a situation like this.

Nostalgia: Some books you’ve read have been linked to a certain time of your life. Re-reading these books with ties can make you go back to that time in your life which can be a very nostalgic experience. But it can also just be that a book gave you certain feelings and by re-reading you might re-experience those again as well.

Mood-reading: I’m definitely someone who picks books based on how I feel. And picking up a book where you know the entire mood of the book can really play into this. For example, sometimes I just like having a good cry when reading (don’t judge me, I can enjoy having a good book induced cry) and I know exactly which book can make me cry.

Insight: Re-reading a book can give you more insight into the characters, the story, the situations, anything really. You can pick up on things you missed while reading it the first time. Those clues that were so well hidden that you missed them. Or perhaps you’re like me and read super fast when things are getting excited and when you re-read those scenes later you find out that you missed a good quarter of all the details.

Nay

Many other books to read: For me this is an obvious one, there are just too many books on my actual shelves that I haven’t read yet, and I won’t even get into my overflowing to-be-read shelf on goodreads. Re-reading books costs time, time that you could be spending reading new books.

Knowing what’s to come: For me personally this is not a problem at all, but I can imagine that some people really just don’t like reading a book again if they still remember things that happen. So that could be a real valid reason to not read a book again.

Disappointment the second time around: I admit that I’ve had books that I re-read and liked a lot less the second time. That was just a huge bummer. And if it had happened more often it might have dampened my joy for re-reading. But thankfully this hasn’t happened to me more than a couple of times, because that would really suck otherwise. You are just more prone to spot plotholes or weird character development the second time around because you’re just not wow-ed by the newness anymore.

 

Where do you stand on this? Do you love re-reading or is it something you never do? What are your reasons? Is there a book you could read every year without getting bored of it?

3 thoughts on “Yay or Nay: Re-reading books

  1. I reread books a lot, though maybe not as much as I used to (in part because I own more books, have more access to the library, etc.). I’ve never found knowing what happens to be a problem with a really good book; I think good books transcend plot and are about more than just “surprising” the reader with plot twists and whatnot.

    Books I’ve been disappointed in? Some books I loved as a child. There is a large selection of books that can appeal to both children and adults. And then there are a lot of books that don’t. It’s funny to think that, as a child, you didn’t realize how simplistic or ridiculous a book was.

    • I agree with you on all of these points! I love re-reading books and I don’t care at all that I already know what will happen (I’m the same with movies too).

      And I totally get that some children’s books just don’t hold up when you re-read them later in life, and I too have some experience with this. But there are definitely those gems out there, that, even though they were written for kids, still stay epic.

      Thanks for your comment!

  2. Pingback: March Wrap Up | Lose Time ReadingLose Time Reading

Say something!

