Review: Grim–a collection of short stories

Grim

Grim

My rating:

cloudy

Goodreads summary:

Inspired by classic fairy tales, but with a dark and sinister twist, Grim contains short stories from some of the best voices in young adult literature today:
Ellen Hopkins
Amanda Hocking
Julie Kagawa
Claudia Gray
Rachel Hawkins
Kimberly Derting
Myra McEntire
Malinda Lo
Sarah Rees-Brennan
Jackson Pearce
Christine Johnson
Jeri Smith Ready
Shaun David Hutchinson
Saundra Mitchell
Sonia Gensler
Tessa Gratton
Jon Skrovan

zoo bannerzoo banner

Because it’s hard to talk about a collection of short stories in one breath I will just talk about every short story separately. Though I will say some things about the collection in general. I think there were two different types of stories in this book: the complete retellings and the fairytale-feel retellings. The first meaning just a whole new story, told in a very contemporary style while the second stayed truer to the fairytale style. I also have to say that I didn’t really know some of these stories before reading the retelling so I can’t really compare it to anything.

  • A Real Boy (Pinocchio) by Claudia Gray
    I loved the cuteness factor in this story. And the sci-fi setting made the whole thing feel nice and new. Overall this was a cute story which I liked a lot.
  • Beast/Beast (Beauty and the Beast) by Tessa Gratton
    I loved this retelling of the fairytale! I can only compare it to the Disney movie, seeing as I haven’t read the original story. But this was a lot of fun. For being a short story I think it went pretty deep and showed a lot of emotion, which I can truly appreciate in short stories. I it really made me want to check out more of Tessa Gratton’s writing!
  • Beauty and the Chad (Beauty and the Beast) by Sarah Rees Brennan
    In comparison with the other Beauty and the Beast retelling this one just paled. I think it was strange in any case that there were two short stories retelling the same fairytale. I liked the idea of how the story was retold but the execution just didn’t cut it for me.
  • Before the Rose Bloomed (The Snow Queen) by Ellen Hopkins
    I have no clue how the original went so this story was completely new to me. I enjoyed it and its classic fairytale feeling. The story was very nice and written well.
  • Better (The Pied Piper) by Shaun David Hutchinson
    This was a sci-fi retelling and that was very new for me. And I liked it. I loved the whole story, start ‘till finish and just kept hoping for more. In my opinion this story could be worked out into a full length story.
  • Figment (Puss in Boots) by Jeri Smith-Ready
    It took me forever to realize which story was being retold in the story. I love how this retelling wasn’t afraid to deviate from the original (which I’ve only read a short version of). I liked the perspective from which this book was written and the sentiment that went with that perspective.
  • Light It Up (Hansel & Gretel) by Kimberly Derting
    Though this wasn’t a bad retelling it didn’t leave me wanting more. But it was definitely better than some and enjoyable enough. This is just not one of my favorite fairytales which is probably why I wasn’t over the moon about this short story.
  • Sell Out (Snow White) by Jackson Pearce
    This story covered only a fragment of the story, and perhaps that’s the reason why this didn’t really work for me. It was all just too vague for me, it never really brought new things to the table. Perhaps if it had been linger and spanned more of the story I would have liked it better. Because I do like her writing generally because I was blown away by her fairytale retellings (sisters red & Sweetly) This was definitely a cloudy story for me.
  • Sharper Than a Serpent’s Tongue (Diamonds and Toads) by Christine Johnson
    I have no clue why, but this story just didn’t really matter to me. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t good either. It’s just a thing that I read which didn’t make me feel anything. It’s a shame because there seemed to be some potential in there to be more.
  • Skin Trade (The Robber Bridegroom) by Myra McEntire
    This was a story that was clearly not for me. I don’t know the original story at all and that might be the reason why I thought this retelling was a bit too vague. There were lots of insinuations, but not enough being actually told in my opinion. I would have liked a bit more depth to the story because I feel as if I missed out on certain things.
  • The Brothers Piggett (The Three Little Pigs) by Julie Kagawa
    This was a retelling after my own heart. I read it with a lot of glee because it felt new even though I was pretty sure I knew the ending. All of the main points were still there but they just felt different enough to take this story to the next level. I really liked this story a whole lot and will be checking out the other works of the author.
  • The Key (Bluebeard) by Rachel Hawkins
    I loved this short story, it was a great one to have as the first one in the book. It really got me excited for the other short stories and just so in the mood for fairytales. For me this story could have been longer even because the writing was very nice as well.
  • The Pink (The Carnation) by Amanda Hocking
    I enjoyed the true fairytale vibe I got from reading this short story. I have no clue how the original story goes as I haven’t even heard of it; But I liked the story and the writing, and it’s great that it made me discover new fairytales (which I’ll just have to look up and read now!).
  • The Raven Princess (The Raven) by Jon Skovron
    This felt pretty classic fairytale hence I really enjoyed it. And while I have an idea of how the original goes, it’s not enough to be able to make a comparison.
  • The Twelfth Girl (12 Dancing Princesses) by Malinda Lo
    This was one of the more contemporary retellings and I liked it. But I didn’t love it, I missed some explanations to really get carried away with this story. It all seemed a bit too random I guess.
  • Thinner Than Water (Cat-Skin) by Saundra Mitchell
    I loved this story to bits even though it was far from happy. There was a definite twisted and dark feel to this story, but I really enjoyed it because of it. It was also very well written and I just enjoyed how new this story felt!
  • Untethered (The Shroud) by Sonia Gensler
    At first I was sort of confused by this story, as the reader is meant to I think, but then I started liking it. But I never felt that I loved it. It was good though and definitely earned its place in this book.

So there you have it, my opinions of all of the stories, listed alphabetically. I’m just very happy that I picked up this book because there were some really good stories in here that totally made me want to check out more of the author’s work. Plus it also gave me a liking for fairytales I’ve never heard of and which I’ll soon be checking out.

Say something!

