Double Review: Romance for cynics & Colour Wielders

Romance for Cynics (Mills & Boon Modern Tempted)

Romance for Cynics

Nicola Marsh

My rating:

2 star

Goodreads summary:

Must. Not. Fall. For. Fake. Boyfriend.

Cashel Burgess’s PR team have come up with a plan to salvage his reputation and show his ‘softer’ side by entering a Valentine’s Day competition to find Australia’s Most Romantic Couple. It’s so ridiculous it might actually work. The hitch? He doesn’t even have a girlfriend. But that’s not about to stop him…

Thanks to a good-for-nothing ex, gardener Lucy Grant hates Valentine’s Day. But when Cash makes her an offer too good to refuse Lucy finds herself half of the most cynical couple in Australia! The only problem is when a man fakes it this well, a girl might be tempted to turn fiction into fact…

zoo bannerzoo banner

Although there was nothing inherently wrong with it, this book just didn’t sit well with me. It’s not that I had a hard time getting into the story or that it wasn’t fun. Perhaps it’s just me getting tired of the romance genre. That might actually totally be it, because this isn’t the first time that I think the book really isn’t that bad, but it didn’t left me feeling a whole lot. I had fun while reading this book, so really don’t believe that it’s all bad. It’s not even really bad at all, I’m just over the genre for a while I guess.

But for the sake of being a bit more eloquent in my opinion of the book, here is a slightly more in depth view. I’m over the whole forced relationships turning into something real, because I’ve been there before, plenty of times even. Also the fact that the guy the book is superrich doesn’t help to make this book feel more original. But Cashel seems like a nice guy. Lucy is also one of the typical female leads in romance, but she seems nice as well. The character that I liked the most in the book is Lucy’s grandmother.

I’m really not saying that there’s anything wrong with this book, I think it’s just me. Overall it was a very fast read but it just left me wanting more; more depth, more originality.

zoo bannerzoo banner

Colour Wielders (Colour Wielders, #1)
Colour Wielders

(Colour Wielders #1)

Dawn Raver

My rating:

1 star

Goodreads summary:

Warning: This book is not your mother’s fantasy. It’s a modern story with a sexy alpha male who’s tired of waiting for what he wants. Once he gets her, he’s not afraid to take on the Universe to keep her. Don’t let the cover fool you. This book is hot!
Behind the Faerying Mysts, hidden from Mortal eyes, is a land where gods and creatures of myth and legend dwell. And in the Mortal Realm, their Princess is hidden away.
Quinn Sinclair lives an ordinary life with her less-than-loving mother in Conifer, Colorado, clueless of her true nature. On the night of her birthday, a staggering betrayal sends her life spinning out-of-control. As she struggles to pick up the pieces, a vision of a man with haunting tourmaline-blue eyes begs her for help, and she is transported into a Magykal battle-forever changing her life.
Arik Morgaine-Demigod bad boy and outcast of the Magykal Realm-tried to avoid contact with Princess Quinn for eighteen years, not wanting to make good on an old threat. But the fates have other plans. Arik can no longer deny his growing desire for Quinn, or the need to protect her from those wanting to control her burgeoning powers. Can the two of them come together and save the Magykal Realm from being destroyed by the Darkest of Magyks?

zoo bannerzoo banner

I’ll admit it right up front, I didn’t finish this book. It had a huge informational overload in the first couple of chapters which just made it really difficult to connect to the story. At that point I went to check out the reviews on Goodreads, to see what others thought of this book. There were some really good things being said about this book, but everyone mentioned the tough beginning. And so I tried to just pull through and keep going because so many people were saying this book was worth it. But after another couple of chapters I just still wasn’t convinced. I didn’t like the characters and I wasn’t a fan of the writing style that was employed in this book. That’s the point where I decided to give up on this book because it just couldn’t hold my attention. I have so many other books waiting to be read that it just felt like a waste reading a book that just didn’t sit well with me.

Say something!

