Discussion: loving the despised, hating the beloved

Admit it, we’ve all been there and loved a book everyone hated. But we’ve also hated the book all our friends love. Well, perhaps not everyone was right there in the thick of things, hate is a very strong emotion after all. But it’s safe to say that we’ve all been severely underwhelmed by certain books, and there must be people out there who really, genuinely like it. Because otherwise the book would have never come into being. The writer must have felt that it was worth it to tell the story, the editor and the publisher must have thought so too, because otherwise it would never have become a published book. We all know that tastes differ, but how big can the difference really be?

And haven’t we all had that book that we just loved huge amounts but when your friend finally got around to reading it, they disliked the whole thing? Isn’t that just a huge let-down because you can’t share your passion for this obviously awesome book? Just look at the Twilight- series, so many people are over the moon about them while others would happily burn them. And that’s just one of the many examples, because take a quick look at your goodreads ratings. How many one-star reviews have you given lately? Now look at what other people have rated this book, do they share your dislike? I’m betting that there are certainly people who do, but I wouldn’t be surprised if there were a lot of people who did like the book. Sometimes even for reasons that you immediately put in the con column for the book.

 

Has there ever been a book that you were so excited about and when you started talking about to your friend they just didn’t share your joy, because they hated it with a passion? Have you ever really disliked a book that everyone seems to love?

6 thoughts on “Discussion: loving the despised, hating the beloved

  1. I hated Red Hill by Jamie McGuire and a lot of my friends loved it. And when I told them I hated it, they seemed to get offended!

    • That sucks. I mean, it’s pretty normal to disagree about books right? We can’t all love the same ones, so there’s no need to take offense. I actually haven’t read red hill yet so I don’t yet know whether I agree with you or not , but in any case I wouldn’t take offense ;-)

  2. Yeah, this actually happens often for me! It always makes me nervous to read books that have been highly loved or recommended to me because I know I will have to review them, and sometimes will start the book with a different perspective to ‘love’ the book. I think my biggest example of this was with ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ by John Green. I really didn’t like the book, but my friends all did. And on the opposite side of that, I begged my best friend to read ‘Divergent’ since it’s release (I even bought it for her) and she didn’t like it!

    • I always get a bit sad when that happens, but it’s bound to happen at times. I just love to share my feelings about books and it’s just great when you feel the same way because then you can just fangirl (or flame) the same book with a friend! Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  3. I get nervous to rec my favorite books to people I talk to regularly in the blogging world for this very reason. What if they hate it!?!?!? I would feel really bad that I made them read a book they hate… plus then I feel like they are judging me a little about my book preferences. Not that I care, because I think I have good taste in books, but at the same time I don’t want someone thinking “WTF is wrong with her to like this book”. I mean I know I can’t help but roll my eyes when someone loves a book that was so bad it offended me.

    • Although it can be unpleasant at first, sometimes it is able to spark great discussions, granted both parties can be nice about it ;) But I do totally get where you’re coming from, sometimes you just don’t want people to rain on your parade!

Say something!

