Review: The consequences -Colette Freedman

The Consequences (The Affair, #2)

The Consequences

(The Affair #2)

Colette Freedman

My rating:

2 star

Goodreads summary:

In the riveting follow-up to her acclaimed debut novel, Colette Freedman explores the aftermath of infidelity from three different perspectives–husband, wife, and mistress. The end of an affair may be only the beginning. . .
Over the course of one tumultuous Christmas Eve, Kathy Walker confirmed her suspicions about her husband’s affair, confronted his mistress, Stephanie, and saved her marriage. She and Robert have eighteen years, two teenagers, and a film production business between them–plus a bond that Kathy has no intention of giving up on. Yet though Robert is contrite, Kathy can’t quite silence her doubts.
While Robert reels from his wife’s ultimatum and his mistress’s rejection, Stephanie makes a discovery: she’s pregnant. Her resolve to stay away from Robert wavers now that they could make a real family together. And in the days that follow, Stephanie, Robert, and Kathy must each reckon with the intricate realities of desire, the repercussions of betrayal, and the secrets that, once revealed, ripple through lives and relationships in thoroughly unexpected ways.

zoo bannerzoo banner

Okay, now I’m going to be very honest with you guys and say that I messed up here. I picked up this book, read the synopsis, thought it was fun and decided to read this book. All without somehow grasping the fact that this was the second book in a series. I don’t have a clue as to how I’ve missed this, especially since I did read the synopsis. Perhaps I just skipped over the first part? Anyhow, seeing as I didn’t even really notice that I was missing the knowledge from the first book while reading this one is weird. It does mean that this book gives enough hints as to what has happened before in the previous books to not have read them too shortly before (or have read them at all it seems). I have decided to write a short review of this book, because I have read it and I do have some thoughts about it. But if you don’t want to take my word for it because I missed out on the first book, that is definitely your prerogative.

I liked the premise of this book, I loved seeing the different angles of this situation. There are just so many differences between all of the angles that it can be really intriguing to find out who feels what about certain events. But for me there was a lack of depth to every side of the story. There were some scenes that overlapped, which is natural, but I didn’t have the feeling that every new angle added much to the greater picture. Not enough details were being added to in these conversations from the different points of view. At times the difference was even so small that it felt like it didn’t add anything new. And that’s not how it should be, it should always add another layer to the story.

As for the writing in this book, it just wasn’t for me. It’s not that it was bad, it just wasn’t able to hold my attention for longer amounts of time. I think this does tie in a little with there being moments in which not enough is being said towards building up the emotions in the story. This is a very emotional thing that is happening to all these characters and at times I just didn’t feel it enough.

Say something!

