Review: Backward compatible–Sarah Daltry & Pete Clark

Backward Compatible: A Geek Love Story
Backward compatible
Sarah Daltry & Pete Clark

My rating:

4 star

Goodreads summary:

A YA Gamer Geek Comedy in the vein of Scott Pilgrim and Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Ideal for fans of The Big Bang Theory, The Guild, and all things Joss Whedon.

WARNING: There is no sex in this book. Your Kindle or other device will remain at a pleasant room temperature. At no point will your panties drop. Your significant other will be allowed to snore in peace as you read. You may, however, laugh yourself out of commission.

Not too long ago, in a town that, depending on your current location, is either not super far or actually quite close… (insert Star Wars theme music here…)
It is a time of chaotic hormones.
Two nerdy gents home for winter break have discovered a female gamer at a midnight release.
During the break, the gamer trio manages to reveal the game’s secret boss, a hidden enemy with enough power to destroy anything in its path.
Pursued by other gamers who want to be the first to beat this boss, George and Katie race to level up, and, in so doing, restore decency and sexual activity to their personal galaxy…

zoo bannerzoo banner

This was very refreshing to read as a gamer myself. I haven’t really read any contemporary romances with this geeky twist before. I loved the characters in this book but also the game and the general nerdiness about it all. Reading this book was a very fast affair and that was mainly due to me not wanting to put it down before I finished it. So if you are a gamer yourself and you are also a fan of pop culture and you love to read, this is really a book that might interest you a whole lot.

Katie and George were the main characters in this book with their alternating POVs and that was nice. It really added to this awkward love story because you got a lot of insight into how they both felt. Lanyon is George’s best friend and he was just so funny. I think he might actually be my favorite character in the whole book. But the thing I actually liked the most about the characters in this book was that they were so diverse. There are so many different kinds of gamers and this book really shows that. It’s not because you like gaming that you automatically do a whole lot of other stuff as well, every gamer still has a personality outside of gaming.

The story in this book was very nice and was just spiced up with a lot of humor and references to pop culture and awkwardness. I do have to say that at times the writing didn’t flow as easily as I would have liked, but these parts never lasted very long. The ending of this book wasn’t really unexpected, but for me that really didn’t make me like it any less. I’m not sure as to the background of the authors, whether they are gamers or not. That because either they themselves really like gaming or they really took their time to get into this hobby. I would guess that they do like their fair share of gaming though, and let’s be honest, who doesn’t?

In general this book was just a very cute and fun read which just sucks you right in and won’t let you go until it’s done.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Review: Backward compatible–Sarah Daltry & Pete Clark

  1. We’re both gamers. Definitely. :) In fact, UPS needs to get here with the new Final Fantasy or I am going to be very upset! ;)

Say something!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s