Review: You belong to me – Karen rose

You Belong to Me (Romantic Suspense, #12) (Baltimore Series, #1)

You Belong to Me

(Romantic Suspense, #12)

Karen Rose

My rating:

3 star

Goodreads summary:

YEARS AGO A YOUNG WOMAN WAS BEATEN AND RAPED WHILE ONLOOKERS DID NOTHING. NOW THOSE WITNESSES ARE BECOMING VICTIMS THEMSELVES…
Baltimore homicide detective J.D. Fitzpatrick has seen a lot of horrific violence both as a cop and during his deployment in Afghanistan, but nothing like the trail of tortured bodies turning up throughout the city. He’s up against a brutal killer with a very personal vendetta, and J.D. is beginning to suspect that his medical examiner may be shielding some crucial evidence linked to the case.
Medical examiner Dr. Lucy Trask is intrigue by J.D.’s compassion, but she isn’t about to mix work with pleasure. Not while there’s a ruthless killer on the loose. And definitely not while she’s keeping a dark secret that could connect her to these vicious killings – and put her next on the killer’s hit list…

zoo bannerzoo banner

I have read a couple of Karen Rose’s books before this, these were also part of the romantic suspense series. However this is the first in the Baltimore sub-series that I’m reading. I really enjoyed the previous books that I’ve read by Karen Rose and had high hopes for this one. But it had been a while since I’ve read the others, and perhaps that led me to have higher expectations? Or maybe I just wasn’t in the right mood for this book. Because there’s nothing that I really strongly disliked about this book, especially not more so in comparison to the other Karen Rose books, but it just didn’t pull me in enough.

Fitzpatrick and Lucy really match each other in how little they try to share about their personal life without being forced to. But for me the most interesting person by far was the killer. In this book we get to see things from his point of view without knowing who he is. And that’s just really nice because you are continuously guessing who it might be. I did enjoy the variety of people that we were following in this book, but the spotlights were really on Fitzpatrick and Lucy. And perhaps it would have made things feel more full if the focus was a bit more widespread.

This books follows the same “standard” storyline as the other books in the romantic suspense books. This is really due to the romance part of the book, because the thriller component really is different every time (right until the thriller part starts to overlap with the romance part). Perhaps I’m being a bit too cryptic with that last part, but I just don’t want to spoil people on the events in the book. If you’ve read the book, or any other Karen Rose books you will probably know what I mean. Though this formula might not be very new it is very enjoyable, especially if this is something you like. And while I usually like romance and suspense, this would seem like a great combo now, just like it has been for me in the past. But it just didn’t float my boat enough for me to rave about this book. Neither did it bother me enough to make this a rant. It was right in the middle of those two. I liked it but I’m really not crazy about it.

Due to this very non-outspoken way I feel about this book I’m having a hard time talking about this book. For me personally I’m not even sure why I feel this way about this book. Is it because I just didn’t happen to be in the mood for these books? Or are they no longer what I want? Did I get too used to a different kind of thriller( without the romance)? I’m actually pretty disappointed with my lack of reaction to this book. I think that most times I finish reading a book with even a slightly more outspoken yay or nay feeling. But now there’s nothing there. And that’s why I was even thinking about giving this book 2 stars. Because feeling nothing about a book isn’t really good is it?

Say something!

