Review: The Titan’s Curse–Rick Riordan

The Titan's Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #3)

The Titan’s Curse

(Percy Jackson and the Olympians #3)

Rick Riordan

My rating:

5 star

Goodreads summary:

IT’S NOT EVERYDAY YOU FIND YOURSELF IN COMBAT WITH A HALF-LION, HALF-HUMAN.
But when you’re the son of a Greek god, it happens. And now my friend Annabeth is missing, a goddess is in chains and only five half-blood heroes can join the quest to defeat the doomsday monster.
Oh and guess what. The Oracle has predicted that not all of us will survive…

 zoo bannerzoo banner

Previous books in series:

The lightning thief

The sea of monsters

These reviews will probably continue to get shorter as we go along. Because it’s hard discussing books in the middle of the series without spoiling the previous books. But I’d like to give you my thoughts on this book anyway. But it’ll just be short.

This book was just as enjoyable as the previous books to me. I admit that I just binge-read the entire series and I have zero regrets about the whole thing. This book, like its predecessors, is just a lot of fun to read. It has a great mix of action, humor and an interesting backdrop. I love all the new gods we meet along the way and I love that we get to know all the character better, every step of the way.

The quest in this book was very enjoyable to read about and had many different facets to it. A lot of things happened in the course of this book and you can just feel it building up to a great finale in the last book. But even though it’s so obviously building up to a great ending two books away, this book is still a lot of fun without taking the next books into account. There is just a certain magic in these books that draws you in and just keeps you interested. the characters are great and the story is great as well. Every book tells its own story and at the same time is a part of a bigger story.

I loved that this book took place in a different season for once, not that I dislike the summer camp thing, but it was just nice to see the flipside of this camp. And it was fun to finally meet halfbloods from another god, I liked it a lot. Artemis was a very interesting character as well, and especially the band of hunters that surround her. I did miss Annabeth a little in this book, but that’s understandable seeing as this book is all about rescuing her. Thalia takes up a more prominent role in this book and I have to say I’m really not her biggest fan, but I like the contrast she provides to Percy in the book.

Writing-wise this book was right up there with the others, I love the chapter-titles, the short and to he point descriptions of characters and the swift action scenes. This is just really one of those fine blends that allow perfectly for breezy reading while still pulling you in very thoroughly.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Titan’s Curse–Rick Riordan

  1. Pingback: Review: The Battle of the Labyrinth – Rick Riordan | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

  2. Pingback: Review: The Last Olympian–Rick Riordan | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

Say something!

