Review: Model Misfit–Holly Smale

Model Misfit (Geek Girl, #2)
Model Misfit

(Geek Girl #2)

Holly Smale

My rating:

5 star

Goodreads summary:

“My name is Harriet Manners, and I am still a geek.”
Harriet knows that modelling won’t transform you. She knows that being as uniquely odd as a polar bear isn’t necessarily a bad thing (even in a rainforest). And that the average person eats a ton of food a year, though her pregnant stepmother is doing her best to beat this.
What Harriet doesn’t know is where she’s going to fit in once the new baby arrives.
With summer plans ruined, modelling in Japan seems the perfect chance to get as far away from home as possible. But nothing can prepare Harriet for the craziness of Tokyo, her competitive model flatmates and her errant grandmother’s ‘chaperoning’. Or seeing gorgeous Nick everywhere she goes.
Because, this time, Harriet knows what a broken heart feels like.
Can geek girl find her place on the other side of the world or is Harriet lost for good?

zoo bannerzoo banner

Previous books in series:

Geek Girl

This book picks up a couple of months after Geek Girl left off. Harriet is still as geeky as ever and there’s a new  adventure on her horizon. This book was a wonderful sequel and I loved it every part of the way. It had everything we loved about the first book just put into a new jacket and a new location. All the humor and the quirkiness was there and it just made me love this book and I just didn’t want to put it down.

Harriet was still her snarky self who just couldn’t help spewing interesting facts about pretty much anything. It was nice to see her interacting with these new characters just as much as it was enjoyable to get more off those characters we began to love in Geek Girl. I missed Harriet’s dad in this book, he was there but I just love his character so much that I would have enjoyed seeing more of him. But it did give us a good chance to meet the other characters better and they were worth it as well.

The storyline in this book was very good and refreshing as well. I was sort of afraid to read this book because I wasn’t sure how it could measure up to Geek Girl. But it really did do very well. I think the new scenery really helped to make this book feel fresh. The plot also really helps to see more of Harriet’s character. I will say that the reason of certain failures was a bit transparent, but the ending did very well to give a good spin on it. I really didn’t expect most of that ending which makes it a very good one in my book. Especially since it still felt right and in order with all the characters.

Having just read this book really made me look forward to the third and last book in the series, Picture Perfect. I hope we’ll get to see more of the same quirkiness and snarkiness and all of the awesome facts (of which I just cannot get enough!).

Say something!

