Review: The Sea of Monsters–Rick Riordan

The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #2)
The sea of Monsters

(Percy Jackson and the Olympians #2)

Rick Riordan

My rating:

5 star

Goodreads summary:

The heroic son of Poseidon makes an action-packed comeback in the second must-read installment of Rick Riordan’s amazing young readers series. Starring Percy Jackson, a “half blood” whose mother is human and whose father is the God of the Sea, Riordan’s series combines cliffhanger adventure and Greek mythology lessons that results in true page-turners that get better with each installment. In this episode, The Sea of Monsters, Percy sets out to retrieve the Golden Fleece before his summer camp is destroyed, surpassing the first book’s drama and setting the stage for more thrills to come.

zoo bannerzoo banner

Previous books in series:

Lightning thief

First things first! I love how this book recapped the previous one. I have read too many books that go in for the overkill which is just a run-through of the previous book right there on the first or second page. And though I get the need for a recap, it’s very annoying when it happens like this, especially after you’ve just read the previous book only moments/hours before. But here in Sea of monsters we have none of these problems. Things are explained when they arise, there’s a bit of hinting here and a bit of hinting there, but never that over the top “let’s say everything what previously happened in these first few pages”. This was just the first of many amazing things in this book. Overall I just really enjoyed this book as well and I just breezed right through. And I picked up the next one right away, so it’s pretty obvious that I loved them.

Tyson is a new character in this book and I loved him. It was just so heart-warming to read about him. Percy was still his hotheaded snarky little self and it was great. Annabeth was also still amazing. I really enjoy all of the characters in the book actually, the good and the bad ones. Because they all have such a humanity to them that it just keeps you very interested in their story arc. They also bring a lot of humor into the story which really makes sure you are laughing a lot throughout the book.

The story itself in this book was just so much fun. The action started pretty much right away and it never really let off. There was always something going on or at least something else was right around the corner. It kept the pace very high which is a big part of why I flew through this book. There was a lot of mythology in this book again, but it really built on what we already knew and deepened that knowledge. I really enjoy this mythology and it is such a great setting in which to base a story. I particularly enjoy all the chapter titles which are just hilarious. They, just like the prophecy always hint at what’s to come, but are still vague enough that you are just left guessing until things start to go down. And then suddenly things click and there’s your Aha moment.

I’m going to let the review end here because it’s so hard to talk about a book without spoiling things. You really should just pick up this series because it’s a super fun and really fast read!

6 thoughts on “Review: The Sea of Monsters–Rick Riordan

  1. Is it sad that I haven’t read this series yet? I don’t think I’ve read one bad review or heard any negative things, about ANY of the books! I’ll have to pick up this series soon, I like books that always seem to have something around the corner, like you mentioned! I love action and adventurous packed books!

    Lisa
    http://www.turningpages94.blogspot.com

    • I was pretty late to the party as well, so no need to feel guilty. The nice thing about being late is that you can just binge read through the series without having to wait for the next book to come out!

      The thing I really like about these books is that seeing as they are middle grade it doesn’t focus on the whole romance stuff too much. Not that I don’t like it at times, but in YA it’s just a bit too often that the romance takes the foreground over this super exciting story and that can be a letdown for me.

      Let me know if you decide to pick these puppies up and how you are liking them ;)

  2. Pingback: Review: The Battle of the Labyrinth – Rick Riordan | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

  3. Pingback: Review: The Last Olympian–Rick Riordan | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

Say something!

