2013 in books

So 2013 is over which makes this a good point in time to look at what happened in the year, reading-wise obviously. I’m no good at picking best and worst books, so don’t expect those kinds of lists from me, I just can’t decide on those kind of things!

Reading in numbers

This year I read 113 books as apposed to the 57 of last year. This mean I am just one book short of having doubled the amount of books read in a year.

According to Goodreads I read a total of 35358 pages this year. This is nowhere near the double of what I read last year (20436), so it’s pretty clear that I read shorter books this year.

Over the whole year I have written a 119 blogposts for this blog which averages as more than 2 per week, which is what I wanted to do!

And this is where I stop talking numbers, because let’s be honest, who really cares about them all that much?

Reading in series

I read four complete series this year: Harry Potter (nothing new there, I reread them every year though I have never reviewed them on here), The Chaos Walking Trilogy (very new and I loved it a whole lot! see my reviews for them here, here and here). The Caster Chronicles is also a series that I have picked up this year and I read it in a pretty short time span as well. (I liked it at first but the later books made me like it less. Click here for my reviews of the books: 1, 2, 3, 4 & 2.5) and lastly I finished the entire Percy Jackson and the Olympians series (I have only reviewed the first book so far because I have only very recently read all of the book. But the other reviews are definitely to come!)

I started reading a couple of different series as well, but I haven’t yet finished these: the Eragon series and I read only the first two books (1, 2) and will continue to read the rest of the series, hopefully somewhere this year. The fairytale retellings by Jackson Pearce are books that I picked up this year, and so far I’ve read the first two (I really enjoyed them, mainly because they were action-packed and they are just fairytale retellings which is just cool. See my reviews here for Sisters Red and Sweetly). House of Night is a third series that I started this year, So far I have read Marked and Betrayed which I enjoyed enough to keep reading. I also read the first two book of the Geek Girl series, the third of which will be released next year somewhere (Geek Girl review and the Model Misfit will follow sometime in the future). Somewhere in the beginning of the year I also started another two series which I intend to finish reading but haven’t gotten around to yet. These are The Narnia Chronicles (1)  and The Hitchhiker’s guide to the galaxy (1, 2 and this is actually a series I started in 2012 apparently). And then there were some books that are not yet part of a series (but will be one day if things go according to plan) and the next books in the series are not yet out, so I won’t be putting them here.

Reading Discussions

In case you missed some of my discussions throughout the year, here I will list them for you.

I really hope to have more discussions on this blog in 2014 because those are just a lot of fun to write and it’s definitely something I get the most response on (and connecting with the community is what it’s all about!)

 

I hope you had a good 2013 as well and hopefully all of you will have a splendid 2014!

Say something!

