Review: The Lightning Thief -Rick Riordan

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)

The Lightning Thief

(Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1)

Rick Riordan

My rating:

5 star

Goodreads summary:

Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school… again. And that’s the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy’s Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he’s angered a few of them. Zeus’ master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect.

Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus’ stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

zoo bannerzoo banner

This book just took my breath away! I had heard so many good things about this book before I eventually picked it up. I’ll even admit to having watched the first two movies without reading this book! So you can see how long this has been coming, and I’m so happy the time finally came. This was an extremely fast read that just captivated my interest right from the start until the very last page.  I was blown away by the whole book and after I finished reading this one and started in the next one right away. So look out for that review in the nearby future!

Percy doesn’t have it easy, he has ADHD and dyslexia which is bad enough, but he also seems to attract bad luck. But soon his world is about to change completely when he finds out the truth about himself. I liked this boy a lot and thought it was a very realistical character (as far as that’s possible in a book that is situated in a mythological world). Both Grover and Annabeth bring something to the table that Percy hasn’t quite got and this makes for a great combo. I do hope that throughout the rest of the series we’ll find out more about them, because we really didn’t get that much of their backstory. What I loved most about this book is how they incorporated the Greek mythological characters into the story. They all were adapted into this modern society but still were able to have their mythological background as part of their character.

All of the mythology is definitely something that kept me super excited about this book. I was really interested to find out more about all of it and how it would tie into the story. But let’s be honest here, I liked everything about the story. I loved all of the action, and I loved the pace. There was never a time while I was reading this book that I felt bored in any way. I just kept sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what would happen next. And I really felt that the writing aided this. There weren’t any sentences that would just go on forever or those descriptions that just wouldn’t end. I’m not going to say that the writing was to the point, because that sounds like a negative thing to say about the book. But the pacing was definitely high enough to just keep you powering through the whole book.

Last but not least I would like to mention something a lot of people bring up when they talk about this book. And that is Harry Potter. Everyone who has ever met me knows that I’m a huge HP fan. So it should come as no surprise to anyone that I too noticed a lot of similarities between the two series. I will not go into detail about them here, because plenty of people have already listed them, and you should just go ahead and read the books to find out for yourself. Though some people might call this a rip-off, I really didn’t see it that way and these parallels didn’t bother me at all. In my eyes this book really did hold its own and even though it might have hold resemblance to the masterwork that is the HP series, it did so beautifully because it worked.

6 thoughts on “Review: The Lightning Thief -Rick Riordan

  1. Pingback: 2013 in books | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

  2. Pingback: Review: The Sea of Monsters–Rick Riordan | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

  3. Pingback: Review: The Battle of the Labyrinth – Rick Riordan | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

  4. Pingback: Review: The Last Olympian–Rick Riordan | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

Say something!

