Movie night: Catching fire

This second part of the series definitely upped the ante. As the people who have read my review of the first movie know, I didn’t like the first movie (see my review here). So I was pleasantly surprised that this movie did it so much better. To me it really seemed as if this movie was more true to the spirit of the book and I could really appreciate this. I loved the acting in this movie a lot more. I have also partially gotten over my annoyance at the outward showing of emotions by Katniss (because that’s just not how it is in the books, but I understand why they do it in the movies because how else do you portray inner emotions if you’re not allowed to show them).  I loved Effie, Finnick, Joanna and Haymitch in this movie! They really did their best for this movie. The arena in this book was also a lot better than in Hunger games. It was exactly how I had imagined it and it was just so much more clear how artificial it all was. This was very unlike the dresses in the movies which I didn’t like. Not once have I ever had the “oh yes this is exactly how I imagined it”-feeling, not even close. And this does make me a little sad because there is a lot of symbol in them. I’m not saying that the dresses in the movie are bad, but I just don’t love them because I had imagined them differently. But the symbolism is definitely still there, so that’s good. The thing I loved the most about this movie however is the fact that It just made me want to re-read the books. To me that is definitely a positive sign.

Did any of you also see the movie? What were your thoughts? (Please keep the comment section spoiler-free for those who have not read the books/seen the movie. If you care to discuss this more in depth, feel free to email me.)

2 thoughts on “Movie night: Catching fire

  1. I definitely think they did something right with Catching Fire. I still loved The Hunger Games movie, but Catching Fire has been growing on me more and more. I didn’t expect to like it more than the first, especially since I liked the first book best of all, but I was pleasantly surprised.

    The acting was certainly phenomenal in this installment. I grew to like Peeta more and Gale less, but Katniss really stole the show as she was supposed to.

    These movies do make me want to pick up the books and just keep reading and reading them. I know that I am going to be buying the movie just as soon as it comes out on DVD.

Say something!

