Review: Fyrelocke: Jack Boomershine and the Prophecy Untold – R. Christopher Kobb

 

Fyrelocke: Jack Boomershine and the Prophecy Untold

Fyrelocke: Jack Boomershine and the Prophecy Untold

R. Christopher Kobb

My rating:

3 star

Goodreads summary:

In a cave, deep within the cliffs of Brighton, lies a curious stone. No ordinary rock, the Fyrelocke has a dark and intricate past.
Twelve-year-old inventor Jack Boomershine believes it a practical joke when a mysterious text message directs him to it. But finding this powerful stone sets in motion an entangled clockwork of events that draws him ever deeper into an adventure in which his inventions are useless.
As things spin out of control, Jack must find his way through a hidden world of magic with vehicles that fly themselves, a telepathic creature—and an ancient evil with an unfathomable plan, determined to ensnare Jack in it.

zoo bannerzoo banner

This was a solid middle grade book. It didn’t blow me away, but it wasn’t disappointing either. But I did notice a couple of flaws throughout the book, or perhaps this was just me being picky. The story was good, as were the characters, but there was something missing for me in this book. The horrible thing is that I can’t quite put my finger on what it is exactly that I missed while reading this book. Perhaps it’s just an unlucky combination of certain smaller factors? Can I also just mention that I’m not a really big fan of the title? It’s a bit too long to my liking, I would have gone with either “Fyrelocke: the prophecy untold”; or perhaps “Jack Boomershine and the Prophecy untold”; or just anything that would just cut down the size of that huge title just a little.

Jack and Chase were pretty likeable characters. And I say pretty likeable, not because I wasn’t sure how I felt towards them at times, but more so because I didn’t really felt that we really got to know them. It seemed like the book was focused more on the adventure at hand instead of the characters. Which is not necessarily a bad thing, but I do think we missed out on getting to know the characters in the book. But I did like their friendship, I think it will really appeal to a lot of readers.

The story line of this book was entertaining to follow. It’s not everyday that someone gets sucked into an adventure of this magnitude. There was always something happening or being explained so it never really had a dull moment. But for me this kind of dulled the climax a bit as well. It just didn’t stick out all that much in comparison to the other things in the book. I love it when there’s just that moment in books when the story just goes into a higher gear and you just know that epic things will follow. I really did miss that here. The whole book was told in the form of very short chapters. This is a really great tool for keeping readers focused on the story, especially (younger) readers who have trouble concentrating while reading. But at times I did find that these snappy chapters were a bit too much of a good thing, here and there a couple of paragraphs could have really given some extra depth to the story. The writing wasn’t enchantingly beautiful but it definitely did the job of narrating this adventure in a high paced fashion.

In general I would say that this really is a solid book, though in my opinion it wasn’t extremely special. But I think many children will really enjoy joining Jack and Chase on this crazy adventure.

Say something!

