Double review: Streaks of Blue & Beautiful Geometry

Sometimes I do double reviews because I just don’t have enough to say about certain books to fill an entire blogpost. This usually happens to books that didn’t wow me, but didn’t majorly piss me off either. I just felt mostly “meh” about them and that hardly feels a whole post. But I would like to share some thoughts I had on these books, so this is exactly that.

Streaks of Blue: How the Angels of Newtown Inspired One Girl to Save Her School

Streaks of Blue: How the Angels of Newtown Inspired One Girl to Save Her School

Jack Chaucer

My rating:
1 star

Goodreads summary:

Adam Upton and Thomas “Lee” Harvey are plotting the next big school massacre at their New Hampshire high school. Nicole Janicek, who knew Adam in elementary school, tries to reconnect with the damaged teen at the start of their senior year. But will Nicole’s attempt to befriend the would-be killer disrupt the plot and turn Adam’s life around before the clock strikes 12:14?

PrintPrint

This book was very disappointing overall. I didn’t like the fact that this girl had to be told by angels to be nice to Adam. I think I would have liked it a lot better if she just liked who she was and didn’t do it because she was scared of what was going to happen. And just the general idea of angels telling people to do things, it’s not my thing.

the dialogue wasn’t smooth at all, I didn’t enjoy reading it and I felt that this probably added to the horrible flow of the book. I don’t think it could have felt more choppy. Let’s also add the fact that I had no connection to any of the characters and right away it becomes painfully obvious why this book was not at all to my liking. Too bad because the premise sounded pretty decent.

By the way, how long can one title be anyway? Isn’t there some kind of limit? Perhaps there should be…

PrintPrint

Beautiful Geometry

Beautiful Geometry

Eli Maor, Eugen Jost

My rating:
1 star

Goodreads summary:

If you’ve ever thought that mathematics and art don’t mix, this stunning visual history of geometry will change your mind. As much a work of art as a book about mathematics, “Beautiful Geometry” presents more than sixty exquisite color plates illustrating a wide range of geometric patterns and theorems, accompanied by brief accounts of the fascinating history and people behind each. With artwork by Swiss artist Eugen Jost and text by acclaimed math historian Eli Maor, this unique celebration of geometry covers numerous subjects, from straightedge-and-compass constructions to intriguing configurations involving infinity. The result is a delightful and informative illustrated tour through the 2,500-year-old history of one of the most important and beautiful branches of mathematics.

PrintPrint

Since I like being up front, I’ll just mention that I’m not good at mathematics. And I didn’t even take many math classes in English, which also didn’t help my understanding of this book. So why on earth would I even pick this up? I like making art, especially geometric art. I’m not really one for free-style drawing just because I’m not all that good at it. So I thought that this book would just give me a bit of history and insight into what I doodle onto my course papers.

Sad but true but this book was way too theoretic for me. This just went straight over my head and the only thing I really ended up liking were the pictures between every chapter. Don’t get me wrong, this book will probably hold a lot more than that with more knowledge in math (especially if you studied it in English). But this book definitely wasn’t all bad because some of the pictures did inspire me. So that’s something.

Say something!

