Discussion: Loving books

This is definitely something I’ve been wanting to talk about for a while. And I’m not really talking about me just loving books in general, because everyone knows that already. Why would I blog about book if I didn’t have a profound love for them? No, I want to talk about a certain thing which can make so much difference in whether I like a book or not. It’s about my mood. More specifically it’s about the mood I’m in while reading a book.

Have you ever read a book which you ended up not liking while at the same time realizing that you might have liked it more if you had read it while being in a different mindset? Or that you can recognize that this is a good storyline but that it’s just the fourth book in a row to have this similar plotline and by now you’re sort of immune to it? Or have you ever loved a book more than you normally would just because it’s something new and you desperately needed that breath of fresh air? This is something that happens to me all the time. And not just on a small level either. I can think of a couple of books that I’ve read in the last year where I felt that my feelings towards the book have been different because of the mindset I was in. For example, Ink by Amanda Sun is a book I absolutely adored. But I wonder if I would have liked it as much if this hadn’t been the first book I’d read that is set in Japan. Moreover, the YA books I read before reading Ink weren’t as exciting as I wanted them to be. How much did this shape my vision on Ink?

There was a time when I was very hung up on romance books. And I think there are a lot of good things to be said about these books, I can really enjoy reading them. But I’m really someone who needs to take a break from these books often enough because otherwise I will stop liking them. This is probably due to the strict genre-specifications:

“Two basic elements comprise every romance novel: a central love story and an emotionally-satisfying and optimistic ending. “
                                                     –Romance Writers of America
                                                http://www.rwa.org/p/cm/ld/fid=578

After a while the happy ending just gets boring to me, especially if you know that it will be there right from the get-go.

The last thing that I’d like to touch upon is that some books just fit perfectly inside your mood while others clash so violently that you have a hard time enjoying it. At times I will find myself in a crying mood, not because I happen to be particularly sad, but perhaps just a little down by the continuing downpour outside of my window. At times like that I can enjoy a good sad book, with those heart-wrenchingly beautiful descriptions of desolate situations. However, I can also be far from this melancholy mood and be ready for some action or perhaps a more happy-go-lucky sort of story. And these can clash horribly with whatever book I’m currently reading. This is definitely one of the reasons that I read multiple books at certain times. Sometimes you’re just not in the mood for that one book. And rather than force it, I just pick up a new book that will suit my mood. This way I get an enjoyable experience more often.

So now I was wondering if I’m alone in being this influential by my mood or the general situation in loving a book or not. Have you ever liked a book less than you should because you just read it at the wrong time? Are you someone who has a far more objective view on books? Feel free to share!

3 thoughts on “Discussion: Loving books

  1. Really interesting post! I don’t think my mood affects the way I feel about books, but some books do affect my mood, so I guess that I just try to adapt my mood to the mood of the book. I do love a happy ending though (although I did have an idea for a book once and the ending wasn’t all that happy, but oh well..)

    I didn’t read a lot during my teen years but I remember reading a lot of books about vampires so after that I needed a bit of a pause from them. Now I just try to mix them, I’ll read something contemporary and then something dystopian, sci-fi, maybe paranormal and that way I never get tired of a certain plot (well, sooner or later it might happen).

    As for reading a book at the wrong time, it’s not so much the plot or the storyline that makes me think this, but it’s the characters. There are some characters who remind me way too much of people I have had problems dealing with lately and it certainly doesn’t let me enjoy the book as much as I should (especially if they are praised for being the way they are…Alaska Young I am looking at you). Sorry for the long comment!

    • No need to apologize for the long comment, I love it! I know what you’re saying that you adopt the mood of the book, this does happen to me as well. But it kind of works both ways.

      Mixing up book genres really does help to keep things fresh and I really have taken this to heart as well.

      As for you disliking the characters in the books because they feel to much like people you have trouble with in real life. I’ve never looked at it like that before, so I don’t really know. But now I will definitely be on the lookout for that when I feel a certain dislike for people in books.

  2. Pingback: 2013 in books | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

Say something!

