Review; Surfacing –Shana Norris

Surfacing (Swans Landing, #1)
Surfacing

(Swans Landing #1)

Shana Norris

My rating:

3 star

Goodreads summary:

Sixteen-year-old Mara Westray has just lost her mother, and now, being shipped off to live with the father she doesn’t know is not how she imagined grieving. She’s already counting down the days until she turns eighteen and can leave the tiny island of Swans Landing.

But from the moment she steps off the ferry, nothing is as ordinary as it looks. Whispers of a haunting song on the wind make her see impossible things, and she isn’t sure she can trust her judgment about what is real and what isn’t anymore. Maybe she can’t even trust her judgment about quiet Josh Canavan, whose way of speaking in riddles and half-truths only confuses her more, luring her deeper into the secrets hidden beneath the ocean’s surface.

As she tries to unravel the events that led to her mom fleeing the island sixteen years ago, Mara finds that the biggest secret of all is only the beginning.

zoo bannerzoo banner

Mermaids! Yeay! I have to say that this was actually the first time that I read about the lore of the merfolk/finfolk/mermaids. I think it was a good start but I wanted more from this book. It’s mostly the characters that made me like this book less. The lore itself was very interesting and well integrated into the story. And then the excerpt for the second book just made me want to read that as well. So it’s safe to say I’m hooked but I’m not sure if I like it. I will say that if the next book doesn’t up the ante with the characters I might just not continue reading this series though.

Mara is not my friend. I would never like her in real life. I understand that she has been through a lot but she seems pretty self-absorbed. In any case she was too busy messing up her own life to see the obvious thing. There were just times when I didn’t have it easy to keep rooting for her. Sometimes I just wanted the book to focus on someone else, Sailor maybe. And though I’ve never actively watched Sailor Moon, every time I read Sailor’s name I just couldn’t help but think of the blonde anime character. Don’t even get me started about the boys in this book because if I ever see someone fawn over an annoying girl in real life I might have to slap them.

The story felt okay while I was reading this book, but looking back not a lot of things happened. This saddens me immensely because this is such a cool premise, so many things could have happened that I would want to read about! No, instead we get the love stuff all up front and that’s just not what I wanted this book to be about. I guess I was just expecting different things from this book story-wise which is where my disappointment comes from. As a whole this book just left me feeling pretty meh. But I’m hoping the next book will do it better and perhaps be more centered around the fact that it’s about finfolk? A girl can only hope.

Say something!

