Review: Note to self–Peter Ward

Note To Self
Note to self
Peter Ward

My rating:

4 star

Goodreads summary:

In a world where technology controls everything, sometimes your own handwriting is the only thing you can trust.

Richard Henley is an ordinary man leading an ordinary life, but when he finds strange notes in his own handwriting warning that someone is trying to kill him, he is sent on a journey to places he never knew existed. With an ominous and all-powerful organization on his trail, his only hope is to trust unexpected allies, take control of his life, and uncover the truth about what happened to the girl he loved twenty years ago. A darkly humorous commentary on our app-obsessed culture, if Richard can stay alive, his world will never be the same again.

zoo bannerzoo banner

This book was definitely a fun read, I also finished this book quite fast accordingly. The storyline was very interesting and Richard was a great main character. But there was just that something that was missing in this story, I just can’t quite put my finger on it (and we all know that’s not a fun feeling). But overall I really did enjoy this book and it’s definitely worth your time! I’ll try to not spoil this book during the review, but it’s going to be very hard!

Richard is a great character, I liked him right away. Mostly because of the little things because they made him feel very relatable. He wasn’t special and that’s what made him a lot of fun. It made this book feel more realistic especially considering what the main plotline is centered around. There are also some good guys here and some bad guys and I love how we get a very full view of both parties. Not everyone who is on the “bad” side has bad motives and vice versa. That’s just a real big plus for me because I love being torn about hating the bad guys!

Plot wise this book was very strong in my opinion. It reminded me a slight bit of a book I read recently (When the world was flat)  and I felt that this book handled those things better. The writing worked very well for this story in my opinion. I don’t have very strong feelings towards the writing which means that it didn’t bother me in the least. It also means that it wasn’t the most beautiful writing I’ve ever read, but that style of writing wouldn’t have helped the story, so this was all the story needed. The ending was good as well in my opinion. I didn’t find it very unexpected but it pleased me nonetheless.

The thing with this book was that however much I liked reading it, afterwards I didn’t have that WOW-feeling. It was good and let me assure you that I’m not lying here. But there was a bit of punch missing perhaps? Or maybe this had more to do with my mood than my book. Who knows?

2 thoughts on “Review: Note to self–Peter Ward

  1. I just read this book and thought it was a good one too. (I’m actually posting my review tomorrow.) I like your comment about the writing style, and I think you’re right – if you don’t notice it one way or another, that’s a good thing.

Say something!

