Review: Sever – Lauren Destefano

Sever (The Chemical Garden, #3)
Sever

The Chemical Garden #3

Lauren Destefano

My rating:

4 star

Goodreads summary:

With the clock ticking until the virus takes its toll, Rhine is desperate for answers. After enduring Vaughn’s worst, Rhine finds an unlikely ally in his brother, an eccentric inventor named Reed. She takes refuge in his dilapidated house, though the people she left behind refuse to stay in the past. While Gabriel haunts Rhine’s memories, Cecily is determined to be at Rhine’s side, even if Linden’s feelings are still caught between them.

Meanwhile, Rowan’s growing involvement in an underground resistance compels Rhine to reach him before he does something that cannot be undone. But what she discovers along the way has alarming implications for her future—and about the past her parents never had the chance to explain.
In this breathtaking conclusion to Lauren DeStefano’s Chemical Garden trilogy, everything Rhine knows to be true will be irrevocably shattered.

zoo bannerzoo banner

Previous books in series:

Wither

Fever

To be honest I took such a long time between reading the first two books and this one that I was a bit out of it. I really did like the concept of the world and all that in the first two, but because it took me forever to get to Sever my enthusiasm had dimmed slightly. And my curiosity had just gone done several notches by that time as well. Thanks to the wonderful people over at The Recaptains with their great recaps of the previous books I was quickly ready to dive into this baby without re-reading. 

This book dives right back into the thick of things. That was good, because I’m not a fan of huge recap sessions at the star of a sequel. But I wasn’t as in love with this book as I wanted to be. I did like certain pot twists but others left me just a bit disappointed. But in general this book was a good conclusion to the series. It definitely brought some closure to the storyline so that was something I liked.

As for the characters, I think they were still the people we knew them to be from the previous books although some have clearly grown. This was something I thought was great because it brought back the memories of the previous books. There is a new character of sorts that did disappoint me a little and this definitely ties in with the plot turn that I wasn’t so sure about. These were pretty much entwined which makes it hard for me to know if I didn’t like the character or the plot turn. Anyway, I have to be vague because I just don’t want to spoil things for those of you who haven’t read the book yet. Another thing I did like was that the character relations became even more defined in this book. There was definitely a lot of stuff going on in the relational part of the book which did make it pretty interesting.

The main storyline however let me down a little bit. For me this book moved a bit slower than I wanted it to. We did get more backstory on multiple characters which was also nice, it did fill up the story a bit. But a little more action or anything of the sort would have been welcome in this book. And then the ending, I’m not so sure how I feel about that (this also plays into the whole plotline I’m not sure of) but I guess it’s okay. As I said, it does give some closure to the readers while still leaving something open to the imagination.

In the ending I was just pretty split up about this book. There were a lot of good things about it but also some things that I liked less. But this book is definitely a must read if you are hooked on the series, because it does provide a lot of answers.

Say something!

