Review: Sia – Josh Grayson

Sia
Sia
Josh Grayson

My rating:

2 star

Goodreads summary:

When seventeen-year-old Sia wakes up on a park bench, she has no idea who or where she is. Yet after a week of being homeless, she’s reunited with her family. At school, she’s powerful and popular. At home, she’s wealthy beyond her dreams. But she quickly realizes her perfect life is a lie. Her family is falling apart and her friends are snobby, cruel and plastic. Worse yet, she discovers she was the cruelest one. Mortified by her past, she embarks on a journey of redemption and falls for Kyle, the “geek” she once tormented. Yet all the time she wonders if, when her memories return, she’ll become the bully she was before…and if she’ll lose Kyle.

zoo bannerzoo banner

I had never before read a YA book about someone losing their memories so the storyline was new to me. Let me say this: I was not impressed, not even a little. I do realize that this is just the one book and other books out there could have done it better. But this story wasn’t to my liking. At all.

The main problem I had with this book was that it just breezes over so many things. I mean this girl wakes up on a park bench and doesn’t have a clue as to who she is and there’s no major freak-out. If that were me I’d be all over the place just wondering what on earth had happened, who I was and more or less have an existential crisis. But there’s none of that here, just a slight confused feeling. And that easy breezy thing just keeps coming back throughout the whole book. There are just so many instances where I thought “well that was easy” and I just don’t understand why. The book would have been so much more interesting of the problems had been more fleshed out. Right now there’s just barely anything that kept me reading, there was that little excitement. I had expected to have a lot of feels while reading this book, because just thinking about not remembering anything freaks me out. Imagine living it.

I had a hard time getting to know the characters because none of them really seemed to feel much. Or at least not deeply. Because there’s just that little conflict! If only all of the world’s problems were as easily resolved in real life as they were in this book. I mean, it’s nowhere close to being realistical. Anyway, back to the characters: they were boring. They were very stereotypical and didn’t stray from whatever it said on their name card.

So what did I like about the book? I guess I did like the concept that was behind the story, that you become who you are by what you have experienced. I mean, part of it is right there inside of you right from birth but you are definitely shaped by what is going on around you. (As you might notice I am a believer of the nature AND nurture, not either one or the other). So yeah, that’s the thing I could appreciate about this book. This is also the reason why I didn’t give this book only one star.

In general this book was disappointing to me because there seemed to be an easy way out to every problem in this book. It might sound mean but I really like it when we get to see the main character suffer, at least for a while. It gives more depth to who they are and it brings more interesting plotlines to the table.

Say something!

