Review: Fall of Sky City–S.M Blooding

Fall of Sky City
Fall of Sky City
Devices of War, #1
S.M Blooding

My rating:

4 star

Goodreads summary:

In a world governed by the opposing forces of the mystical House of Tarot and the tribal Great Families, Synn is caught in the crossfire. He witnesses the slaughter of innocent people, and the devastating murder of his father. This act awakens his Mark of power, a Mark greater than any the world has seen in a very long time.

Queen Nix thought she won a great prize when she destroyed Synn’s father, the leader of the strongest Great Families. She had no idea she’d be doubly blessed by capturing his son. However, before Synn can become her treasured weapon, before she can use him to bring the rest of the world to its knees, she must break him and bind his soul to hers.

She does her job with brutal brilliance. Synn’s mind is broken and his soul is seared to hers in an unbreakable bond.

That doesn’t stop him from wanting to be free. She may have broken his mind and claimed his soul, but he will find a way to destroy her.

Experience a world of ships that sail the clouds and cites buried beneath the ocean, and survive the fiery battle brought forth by those who control the forces of nature!

zoo bannerzoo banner

This was my first steampunk novel ever and I was so ready for it! I really liked it as well, I just wasn’t completely in love with it. But more on that later. I think I might like this book more because I so want to (and do) love the genre. I loved the world in which this story was based and the fantasy aspect was very cool as well. All of this led to me finishing this book pretty quick and I will be keeping my eyes open for the sequel.

Synn was an okay character, I didn’t love him but I didn’t hate him either. At times I just didn’t have that much of a connection with him. But I think this is more due to the writing than the character itself. There were enough other characters and while you do get to know them a little, I don’t feel as if I know them very well after reading this book. Perhaps I will get to know them better after I read the sequel, I certainly hope so.

The world in which this story takes place seems really cool. It definitely wasn’t like life on earth, there was some cool new technology and very special animals. But at times there were also some things that I wasn’t so hooked on because for me they were just a slight alteration of what we have here on earth. For example, at a certain point I believe someone say something about “the seven skies” and I just couldn’t help but notice that this was just like the seven seas we know here and that there was little imagination used to alter this to the new context . This is actually something I notice often in fantasy books, the writers want to create a language that is tailored on this new world but they mold it from the language we have here. (This also happens often in swearing, like “sweet mother of god” but then replace the god with whatever deity is in fashion in that other world). It’s disappointing to me but I got over it, especially since it doesn’t happen too often in this book.

While reading book it often struck me that sometimes I just wanted to know more. There were just times when we didn’t get enough details and the story just seemed to skip right over it. I’m betting it’s probably a personal preference of mine but I think I would have been more into the story if there had been a bit more detail. Sometimes I just felt as if I missed out on something. I think this might be due to the pacing being as high as it is during this book. At times it’ great because you just want to know what will happen next, but I don’t think that it means that there isn’t any time for any in depth action scenes.

Say something!

