Review: Monsters of Men–Patrick Ness

 

Monsters of Men (Chaos Walking, #3)
Monsters of Men

(Chaos Walking #3)

Patrick Ness

My rating:

5 star

Goodreads summary:

“War,” says the Mayor. “At last.” Three armies march on New Prentisstown, each one intent on destroying the others. Todd and Viola are caught in the middle, with no chance of escape. As the battles commence, how can they hope to stop the fighting? How can there ever be peace when they’re so hopelessly outnumbered? And if war makes monsters of men, what terrible choices await? But then a third voice breaks into the battle, one bent on revenge – the electrifying finale to the award-winning “Chaos Walking” trilogy, Monsters of Men is a heart-stopping novel about power, survival, and the devastating realities of war.

zoo bannerzoo banner

Previous books in series:

The Knife of Never Letting Go

The Ask and the Answer

This book was an epic conclusion to the trilogy, I loved it start to finish! But I will say that this book took me longer to finish than the previous two, but that probably has to do with me starting another book right in the middle of this one. It was great to have that extra point of view to see the story from and it made the book stand apart from The Ask and the Answer. I’m definitely someone who can have a book (or a series) ruined by a bad ending. That’s why I was extremely pleased to find out that this was a worthy ending to the Chaos Walking trilogy. This series could not have been better executed in my eyes and I’m so glad that I picked it up.

For the last time we visit our gorgeously well-rounded cast of people from this far-away universe and I loved them just as much as ever. I loved the addition of another point of view because it gave us yet more insight into the whole dynamic of the war and the world. Plus the fact that it was coming from someone in such a different situation made it all the cooler. It also provided that breath of fresh air that really kept this book going strong. The different narrations between the three separate books made this series more wholesome in my opinion because every book brought a new story and a new feel to the table. I absolutely loved the fact that we got to know everyone even better this time around. We got to see the grey areas in which they lived and what beliefs they held. Todd and Viola remain very strong characters about whom I loved to hear more. And I will just mention again that I love the way the animals are portrayed in these books. The simple way in which they still conveyed emotions made me have all of the feels.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this in previous reviews of this series, but I absolutely love the intelligence that is behind the story. The war logic and the counter-maneuvers, they were all very well thought out. I think the story would have been a lot less interesting if the war tactics had been less complicated. Of course it also helped to create interesting scenes and difficult situations. This combination made for such an interesting experience while reading this series. The plot throughout the whole series was just amazing but there was always enough plot in each of the books for them to feel whole as well. Add to that the great ending which just closed of the story so nicely, I love it! There’s also just so much going on throughout the book, there’s just so much depth because of all the themes that are being handled in the book: war, hope, communication, love, humanity, and trust.

Much more cannot be said about this book, as well as the series as a whole. It’s just a really good read and I recommend it to anyone who is even remotely interested in dystopian books.

3 thoughts on “Review: Monsters of Men–Patrick Ness

  1. Pingback: 2013 in books | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

Say something!

