Review: The Ask and the Answer – Patrick Ness

The Ask and the Answer (Chaos Walking, #2)

The Ask and the Answer

(Chaos Walking #2)

Patrick Ness

My rating:

5 star

Goodreads summary:

We were in the square, in the square where I’d run, holding her, carrying her, telling her to stay alive, stay alive till we got safe, till we got to Haven so I could save her – But there weren’t no safety, no safety at all, there was just him and his men…
Fleeing before a relentless army, Todd has carried a desperately wounded Viola right into the hands of their worst enemy, Mayor Prentiss. Immediately separated from Viola and imprisoned, Todd is forced to learn the ways of the Mayor’s new order. But what secrets are hiding just outside of town? And where is Viola? Is she even still alive? And who are the mysterious Answer? And then, one day, the bombs begin to explode…
“The Ask and the Answer” is a tense, shocking and deeply moving novel of resistance under the most extreme pressure. This is the second title in the “Chaos Walking” trilogy

zoo bannerzoo banner

Previous books in series:

The Knife of Never Letting Go

This was a great follow-up book in the trilogy. It is the second book in the series but it didn’t suffer at all from second book syndrome. This is something that truly makes me very happy because I would have been severely disappointed if it had ben an empty story. But this was just absolutely great and I read it in just a couple of days. I had a great time reading this, right from the start because it just had a high involvement factor all the way through. The writing was still spot on and I especially enjoyed the dual-view we got in this book. There’s actually not a lot of bad things that I can say about this book. If you enjoyed the first one then I’m pretty sure you’ll enjoy this one as well. And from hereon out you’ll just be propelled straight into the last book in the series!

In this book there are alternating chapters between Todd and Viola which gave this book a new and fresh feeling. The writing also differed between the tow Point of Views and that for me made it extra good. Both sides of the story definitely had their pull on me and we got a more in depth view of the characters. I love how neither of them are perfect and can be confused about things and don’t know how to handle things all the time. It was especially this that made the story so believable within the realms of the book. The character relations in the book also evolved very naturally during the whole book. It wasn’t necessarily always the way that I personally wanted it to be, but it did make sense. Sometimes you kind of start to like the person you’re stuck with every day. This book definitely got us a lot more insight into all of the characters. Though that doesn’t know we fully know everyone, but it gets us a lot closer than the last book. And there’s just so much growing going on, with all of the characters. Everyone really has their own journey during this book, no one is left behind.

As I previously mentioned, the  involvement factor in this book was very high right from the beginning. This was definitely a good thing because it instantly sucked you back in. Yes, the pacing was a bit slow at first, but it left some place for emotional ties to be rekindled from the previous book. The pacing was good in my opinion, it wasn’t consistent but for me it didn’t have to be. I like it when there is some time to feel in between the faster parts. It allows for more involvement with the story instead of just rushing past everything. The thing that I liked best about the story was that it has lots of substance. There are many things happening, there’s no lull in the storyline. Especially seeing as this is a second book this was great because you don’t want to have this boring in-between book. The writing was very good and it was very distinctive between the two character. Even if the chapters had not been labeled with the name of the main character, it would still have been obvious who was who. The ending just left me wanting to read the next book as soon as possible, and thanks to me being late to the Chaos Walking party I could.

For me there weren’t any real sore points to this book actually. I very much enjoyed this book and read it in a very short period of time. The one thing that irked me was that Viola was just being a tiny bit hypocritical in my eyes, but I think it was meant to be written in this way. I didn’t necessarily enjoy that part but it helped shape Viola as a person. No one is perfect and this definitely proved that and made the whole thing more realistic.

In short: – This book is definitely a must read for anyone who enjoyed the previous book. If you were able to stop after the first book you will have to tell me how you did it, because for me that just wasn’t possible!

3 thoughts on “Review: The Ask and the Answer – Patrick Ness

  1. Yessss! I’m so glad you like this series :D Patrick Ness is hands down my favorite author. I’ve been meaning to re-read his Chaos Walking series but haven’t gotten around to it yet. I plan on taking it with me to London though so hopefully I get to it! I’m not sure how I survived the wait between the first and second books. I had no choice really, since the second one wasn’t published when I read the first! But I always bought the sequels as soon as they were released! I hope you enjoy the final one. Great review :)

    • Oh, I already read the third one and loved it as well! I just don’t want to clutter my blog with the same trilogy. I like giving it some space to breathe in between ;) But I thought these books were amazing! But I’m very happy that I didn’t have to wait in between any of them, it was nice :)

  2. Pingback: 2013 in books | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

Say something!

