Day 9: Why I blog about books

15 Day Book Blogger Challenge | Good Books And Good Wine

The main reason seems pretty obvious to me, I have to say. It’s simply because I love books and I love talking about them. This blog is definitely a way to do that. And it also helps me to preserve how I feel about the books that I’ve read. If you’ve read my confessions you’ll know that I’m a very inconsistent rater, so for me it helps to have words to go with a couple of stars. It puts things in perspective and allows me to remember the book better. What’s not to like about this system?

Having discussions about books is a lot of fun but to be able to do so, it always helps if everyone in the discussion has read said books. It’s no fun to argue with someone who doesn’t have a clue what you’re going on about (and it won’t even be a real discussion except if it’s about whether the book should or shouldn’t be read). Through this blog people can share their thoughts on the books that I’ve reviewed which means that discussions are very possible.

The other perk of blogging is that I keep my writing skills at least on a certain level. Writing is like a muscle: if you don’t use it, it won’t be much use. So putting my thoughts down in writing also allows me to look at how I’m phrasing my thoughts and if I’m being in any way structured when I talk about things. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not in any way saying that I’m a good writer, what I am saying is: I want to be one and only practise will get me there.

Say something!

