Review: Betrayed – P.C. Cast, Kristin Cast

Betrayed (House of Night, #2)

Betrayed

(House of Night #2)

 

P.C. Cast, Kristin Cast

My rating:
3 star book

Goodreads summary:

Fledgling vampyre Zoey Redbird has managed to settle in at the House of Night.  She’s come to terms with the vast powers the vampyre goddess, Nyx, has given her, and is getting a handle on being the new Leader of the Dark Daughters. Best of all, Zoey finally feels like she belongs–like she really fits in. She actually has a boyfriend…or two. Then the unthinkable happens: Human teenagers are being killed, and all the evidence points to the House of Night. While danger stalks the humans from Zoey’s old life, she begins to realize that the very powers that make her so unique might also threaten those she loves. Then, when she needs her new friends the most, death strikes the House of Night, and Zoey must find the courage to face a betrayal that could break her heart, her soul, and jeopardize the very fabric of her world.

PrintPrint

Previous books in series:

Marked

So, I think I might be having a love-hate relationship with this series. Or it’s definitely in the making at least. This is one of the first times that I have such conflicting feeling about a book/series and I’m not sure I like it all that much. I think I’m happier with books that I straight-out like or dislike. But that said I do think I will continue reading the next books just because I want to know and they are a pretty fast read as well. On to the review!

For me there are two layers to the story: 1) the main storyline with the killing and the betrayal, 2) the love interests and friendship stuff. For me it’s all about layer number one. If I’m being very frank (which happens occasionally) I’ll tell you that I could not care less about all the boy drama. The friendships would interest me if only I liked the characters more. So far I’m not sounding too positive about this book, I know, but I am genuinely interested in this main storyline! I just really want to know what is happening at this school and why and how. So that is really the thing which drives me to keep on reading. Can I also just mention how much recap there is at the start of this book?! I understand recapping the story, I really do. but this was just an overhaul extraordinaire. If you’ve read the previous book you don’t have to keep repeating in great detail what happened. I’m pretty sure a couple of hints would have done the trick just fine. But instead, this recap just kept on coming and coming which was really annoying, especially seeing as I had remembered what happened at the end of book 1.

From the storyline to the characters. I’m not a huge fan of most of the characters. Zoey is pretty superficial and apparently very easily swooned by a guy. Add to that the fact that Zoey always finds the perfect way to deal with problems and that she is super popular and always ends up finding the best way to do things and you can see why I don’t particularly like her. Oh and did I mention that being cute as a boy is always a reason to start liking him? And lets not forget that she quickly stops minding that she is so different from everyone else and just embraces it all after a month. If only every other teenager had such an easy time with being different. Damien is an okay guy, I don’t like him all that much but I don’t dislike him either. The twins on the other hand I do dislike. How they always finish each other sentences and all that, it doesn’t do it for me. Perhaps if it had just felt more smooth or just a bit more natural it would have been better. Stevie ray I did like, she seemed very nice. I like her. And then this book happens of course. But I do like Aphrodite, and I look forward how this story will pan out for her.

There is still a lot of name-calling (slut, ho, etc.) going on in this book and I’m still not a fan. Especially seeing as Zoey is very hypocritical about it as well. Sadly there is a bit less mentioning of the mythology of this world which is really a shame because I was fond of it. i think the world in which this takes place is very interesting. But alas, we only got small morsels every now and again. The plot in this book doesn’t shed any new light on the situation. It just sort of confirms things that we were already guessing since the previous book so here’s to more new facts being revealed in the next one!

So after reading this review you might be wondering how this book got its three star rating? I will tell you why: It gets one star for having a decent idea/concept (vampyre finishing school!), it gets another star for the good basic storyline and the third star is for me wanting to keep on reading to find out more about what is happening. Perhaps I’m being a bit too generous with the stars here, but don’t worry, that might all change with the next book.

One thought on “Review: Betrayed – P.C. Cast, Kristin Cast

  1. Pingback: 2013 in books | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

Say something!

