Double review: Emma & Killing me softly

Sometimes I do double reviews because I just don’t have enough to say about certain books to fill an entire blogpost. This usually happens to books that didn’t wow me, but didn’t majorly piss me off either. I just felt mostly “meh” about them and that hardly feels a whole post. But I would like to share some thoughts I had on these books, so this is exactly that.

Emma: A Latter-Day Tale

Emma: A Latter-day Tale

 

 

Rebecca H. Jamison
 

My rating:
2 star book

Goodreads summary:

NOT Looking for Love: Single woman (23) seeks best friend to chat on the phone, shop the clearance racks, watch chick flicks, try out messy cooking projects, and eat Dove dark chocolates.
Emma isn’t so good at the whole life-coaching thing. Her first client ended up with a broken heart and is threatening to relapse into bad habits. Now Emma has problems of her own to deal with, and they all start with one name: Justin.
Justin is her best friend, so it’s hard for Emma not to feel betrayed when she suspects he’s falling for her childhood rival. And she knows she’s losing him despite her best efforts. How is she supposed to help other people when she’s drowning in her own failures?
Fans of Jane Austen’s Emma will love this modern retelling of the classic romance novel. Fall in love with Emma’s latter-day tale of redemption, forgiveness, and the quest for true love.

PrintPrint

Keep in mind that I write this review without having finished reading Emma by Jane Austen and that I have only seen the movie so far. I’m getting around to reading it, perhaps just not yet.

This is the book that I picked up right after reading The Reluctant Blogger, so yes I was kind of aware of some Mormon things (because both of these feature a lot of LDS customs etc.). But I was also over it. Especially since the whole LDS scene didn’t add anything to the story, it felt a bit pointless to base this so heavily in this religious atmosphere. While watching the movie I never really liked Emma and reading this book didn’t give me a better opinion of her either. The contemporary backdrop made her even more annoying in my opinion, because she could have done other things. Women are emancipated now, they can have jobs and all that so they don’t need to keep themselves busy with “projects” anymore. I know Emma was a life coach, but somehow this didn’t feel at all like life coaching and more like taking over someone’s life and sort of making every decision for them. But I will admit that my annoyance with the book lay with the LDS thing for the most part. I didn’t really enjoy this book but the writing was okay and I liked the quotes at the beginning of every chapter.

 

PrintPrint

 

Killing Me Softly

Killing me softly

Leisl Leighton

My rating:
3 star book

Goodreads summary:

Reclusive record producer, Alexia Deningham, guards her privacy fiercely. When she agrees to work with superstar Daemon Flagherty, and his band, it is only on the condition that they stay with her at her isolated country estate.
Fresh from a messy divorce, Daemon is determined to focus on his music. He wants to work with the best and that means Lexi. He certainly isn’t looking for romance, but he finds himself intrigued by Lexi’s secretive behavior.
Despite Lexi’s reservations, their attraction grows. But someone is watching Lexi. Someone who will stop at nothing to destroy the woman who has ruined his life. When his campaign of terror ratchets out of control, Lexi must fight for survival but who can she really trust?

PrintPrint

Killing me softly felt like a dimmed down detective / thriller novel with a lot more romance thrown in (yes, I do know it’s a romance novel, thank you very much). But I found the story to be very predictable despite the whole so-called mystery. I knew pretty early on what the ending would be and I was completely right (I even knew it down to certain details). This whole book felt very run of the mill to me, one in a dozen. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying this is a bad book. It just didn’t have anything I hadn’t read before which makes me sort of sad. I like being surprised by books. If you have been reading my blog for a while now you will have caught on to the fact that I’m growing a little bored with romance novels, especially their predictability. I have to say that reading this has been the one to get me to quit romance for a while. It’s just too much of the same and no matter how good the writing is, there’s only so much of the same storylines I can appreciate before I get bored. So I’ll be reading other things for a while now. But this was a decent story and well-written. I just read this at a wrong point in time.

Say something!

