Jane Eyre – Charlotte Brontë

Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre

Charlotte Brontë
Smith, Elder & Co.
Pub Date: 16 Oct 1847
 
 
 
My rating:
5 star book

 

Orphaned into the household of her Aunt Reed at Gateshead, subject to the cruel regime at Lowood charity school, Jane Eyre nonetheless emerges unbroken in spirit and integrity.

She takes up the post of governess at Thornfield, falls in love with Mr. Rochester, and discovers the impediment to their lawful marriage in a story that transcends melodrama to portray a woman’s passionate search for a wider and richer life than Victorian society traditionally allowed.

With a heroine full of yearning, the dangerous secrets she encounters, and the choices she finally makes, Charlotte Bronte’s innovative and enduring romantic novel continues to engage and provoke readers.

 

Before I begin the actual review of this book I would like to say that I had watched the movie before reading the book. In fact I watched the two most recent Jane Eyre movies before finally picking up this beautiful novel. Both of these movies I watched when they first came out, so there was some time between them. They were also very different even though they were based on the same book; I guess they just sort of focused on different parts (and what use would it be to make the exact same movie twice, right?). So yes, I did know most of the story before diving into the book. But in a way it just made me want to read it more, because I was so looking forward to seeing how certain parts were written, or if the movies deviated from the book a whole lot and it what way.

 

As you can tell from my rating I was clearly blown away by this book. I have loved the story ever since watching the first movie so many years ago, and I love it still. The writing was pretty easy to get through, except in certain conversations between Mr. Rochester and Jane. These sometimes left me a bit befuddled and having to reread certain passages. But other than that I tore through this book fairly quick. It’s very hard for me to express my feelings for this book without just repeating how much I adore pretty much everything about it. The writing was gorgeous, the story itself was just awesome and the characters were so full and beautiful in their own way.

 

The story was really great, and I was a big fan of how it followed Jane through all different stages of her life. We followed her through every major change which happened to her and it made the story feel very complete. It was written chronologically, without any flashbacks or -forwards, and I found that I really enjoyed it. I’m not saying that all the books need to be this way, not at all, but I thought that this format was very fitting and aiding to the storyline. It just helped you see the situation as Jane experienced it, because you know exactly where she came from and what she had been through before she got there. It was pretty clear that the movies followed the book pretty well; most things were definitely in the movie. But the writing just added so much emotion and depth to the situation. I really am happy that I picked it up and finally gave it a read. There was such an extra layer that could be found within the writing which definitely made it worth my while.

 

Though I am nothing like Jane Eyre I could definitely see why she felt the way she did, especially seeing in which time this story took place. She had a very distinct personality and this shone through in her actions as well. It was great to read about the way in which she saw the world and the social scenes around her. I cannot forget to mention how interesting it was how she reacted to all of this and how she found her own place in every setting. Her emotions were beautifully written and though I really don’t think I would act as she did in those situations, it gave such insight into why she acted the way she did. Mr. Rochester is another great character of complex personality. It gave me great pleasure to read of this man who was not beautiful in looks but more so in character. As mentioned already I found the conversations hard to follow at times, I revelled in them as well. They were so entertaining and different from what I had expected.

 

So, in short this book was just awesome. If you are in any way intrigued by the synopsis, please pick up this masterpiece! It was beautifully written and so filled with rich emotions, how can one resist a book like that? I’m pretty sure I will be rereading this lovely piece of penmanship.

6 thoughts on “Jane Eyre – Charlotte Brontë

  1. Jane Eyre is one of my favorites. You might enjoy Bronte’s Villette as well, it too has the rich emotions, perhaps even more so. :)

    • Thanks for the compliment! I’m ever so glad that you liked my review of this book :) Did you yourself not enjoy the book? or just not much as i did? (or did I get the wrong idea from your comment?)

        • That’s very true! I definitely had to take my time to convey my feelings. Because at first it would have been something like “aaaaargh, omg it’s so goooooooooood” but I guessed that would not have gotten my message across :p So I started thinking a lot about how to word this a bit more eloquently ;)

Say something!

