BLOG TOUR -More Than Rivals – Mary Whitney

This review of More than Rivals by Marey Whitney is part of a blogtour! Be sure to check it out!

 

More Than Rivals

More Than Rivals

Mary Whitney
Posit Publishing
Pub Date: Mar 11 2013

 

 

 

 

 

My rating:
4 star book

When is a chance meeting not by chance? Maybe when you hide who you are.
The night before Lily Robles announces she’s running for Congress, she meets a handsome stranger at a coffee shop. Their chemistry is strong, and not wanting to scare him off, she avoids telling him she’s a local politician. She doesn’t want the night to end–until she realizes he’s one of her opponents in the primary.

Jack Bengston can’t place where he’s seen Lily’s pretty face. He’s taken with her, and he’s sure the feeling is mutual–until she leaves him hanging and without her number.

When Jack and Lily meet again as candidates, California State Senator John Bengston and Sonoma County Supervisor Ursula Robles, they find an awkward romantic encounter is no way to kick-off a campaign, but how do you stop an attraction once it starts? There are times when politicians want to put their identities aside.

 

First off, I would like to start off by saying that I am not usually into politics. I don’t really follow it and secondly I know next to nothing about politics in America, especially on this level. Yet this book was still easy to follow, even for me, an absolutely uninitiated person in the land of politics. This was a great plus for the book, because to me it seems pretty smart to not exclude any readers so easily. Because it may be a love story, it’s pretty important to understand the politics at hand to get a more complete view of the situation.

 

The story was good; it was clearly a romance novel so the story storyline was very clear cut. But it was very well written and I especially enjoyed the conversations. They were just so much fun and felt so real. That was really one of my favourite parts in the book, hands down. Especially the conversations between Jack and Lily were a lot of fun. As mentioned above the political situation was very well explained, but also in a very subtle way. It wasn’t just dumped in your lap with a “this is all you need to know”. It was eased into conversations and inner dialogue which made it very unobtrusive to the story itself. I would have liked this book a lot less if all this information was integrated into the novel in a more obvious way. (As I said, I’m not into politics and I would have put down the book pretty soon if that had felt more like the focus of the story)

 

Next up: the characters. In my opinion they were pretty great. As mentioned above I liked their dialogue a whole lot and this definitely made me love them. Though I have to say, when I found out Ursula was Lily’s full name I couldn’t help but think of the witch in “the little mermaid”. Thankfully this book didn’t use Ursula a whole lot because otherwise the story would have definitely looked different in my mind. She was a great character, despite her name. Jack (or John, depending on how you see him: as a regular guy or a senator) was a well-rounded character as well. They really seemed like people I’d like in real life as well. Their respectable best friends were ok. It’s not that I didn’t like them; it has more to do with the fact that we saw them so little throughout the book. They might not have a huge role to play, but I definitely would have liked to see more of them throughout the book.

 

The writing was very easy to read, I just flew through this book. That is definitely something I’m looking for in a romance novel. If the story doesn’t flow well, I’m very likely to put it down. Romance novels are just a lot nicer when you get sucked into the story right away and are continuously pulled into it. This book really had that. As a last thing I’d like to discuss the ending. I have to say that I’m not such a great fan of it. I was hoping it would have gone differently. I’m not saying that I don’t like where the story ended, but more that I don’t like how it got there. If that makes any sense at all.

 

In general I really liked this book but I was a little disappointed with the ending. It could have ended so many different ways, so many more exciting things could have happened. It’s a nice ending, but nothing special in my opinion.

 

 

Buy this book on Amazon

Say something!

