The S-Word -Chelsea Pitcher

The S-Word

The S-Word

Chelsea Pitcher
Gallery Books
Pub Date: May 7 2013

 

My rating:
2 star book

First it was SLUT scribbled all over Lizzie Hart’s locker.
But one week after Lizzie kills herself, SUICIDE SLUT replaces it—in Lizzie’s looping scrawl.

Lizzie’s reputation is destroyed when she’s caught in bed with her best friend’s boyfriend on prom night. With the whole school turned against her, and Angie not speaking to her, Lizzie takes her own life. But someone isn’t letting her go quietly. As graffiti and photocopies of Lizzie’s diary plaster the school, Angie begins a relentless investigation into who, exactly, made Lizzie feel she didn’t deserve to keep living. And while she claims she simply wants to punish Lizzie’s tormentors, Angie’s own anguish over abandoning her best friend will drive her deep into the dark, twisted side of Verity High—and she might not be able to pull herself back out.
Debut author Chelsea Pitcher daringly depicts the harsh reality of modern high schools, where one bad decision can ruin a reputation, and one cruel word can ruin a life. Angie’s quest for the truth behind Lizzie’s suicide is addictive and thrilling, and her razor-sharp wit and fierce sleuthing skills makes her impossible not to root for—even when it becomes clear that both avenging Lizzie and avoiding self-destruction might not be possible.

 

The story seemed pretty intriguing at first. Someone was smudging the reputation of the deceased girl even more after the funeral. Her former best friend sets of on a mission to find out who is doing it. I liked this premise. But then you get more insight into the situation before she committed suicide and suddenly it’s just a mess. Because she was caught in bed with Angie’s boyfriend. This must have brought on a huge jumble of confusing emotions, especially seeing the involvement Angie had in the slander campaign against her best friend, Lizzie. When suicide follows two weeks later I imagine you just don’t know how to feel about the whole thing, especially when you’re Angie. Instead Angie feels nothing apparently. She’s pretending to be a detective and find out who is to blame. This book is written a bit like a whodunit, which could have been fun. But there is just so little emotion involved, and that just struck me as weird and left me very detached to the story. I was just filled with so much disappointment by this. It’s totally understandable that she wants to find out who had anything to do with whatever lead up to the suicide, but it hardly seemed as if she was struggling with her best friend’s death at all.

I didn’t like Angie, mainly because she was so emotionless and felt like such a flat character. That which could have made her feel more realistic was just left out of this story for a big chunk of the book.in general I thought most characters in this book were very one-sided. They all just had a part which they had played in the time coming up to the suicide, and that was pretty much it. They also seemed pretty unaffected by the death of their peer, which just made it seem more unrealistic. Yes, I know that I keep yapping on about that, but it was just so annoying! I can honestly say that the beef I have with this book mostly lies right there. My other beef is that a new relationship had to be dragged in here. The book would have been so much stronger if the love had been left out and more emotions had been put in. But, on with the character discussion. Lizzie felt like a saint. She never did anything wrong, never thought anything wrong even. This made the themes in the book a lot less powerful than they could have been. Because she was such a saint no one had the right to call her those names. Ok, this does get a new twist in the ending, but still. It keeps being repeated that she would have never done anything bad to anyone and this gets old real fast as well as making her feel like a teen who I’ve never met in my life. It also just made it seem that if you haven’t been a goody two shoes all of your life you would deserve what Lizzie had happen to her. This is not an okay message to send.

I really like that in today’s society books around these heavier topics can be written, because they can open up a conversation about these things. I just find that this book isn’t sending the message the right way. I get that the author is trying to make these topics less of a taboo and I’m all for that. There’s just too many in this one book and they were a bit too superficial for my liking. In my opinion the author should have taken on a smaller load of topics in this book because now they are less well worked out than they could have been.

So to wrap it up: this book could have been a lot more than it was. But it ended up disappointing me, and from the reviews I’ve seen, you either really like it or it doesn’t do much for you. Have you read this book and which category do you fall into?

5 thoughts on “The S-Word -Chelsea Pitcher

  1. EEE!! I’ve been looking forward to this, from all the great things I’ve heard about the blogosphere but uhh not so much now. Angie seems to be an unrelatable character and I’m not really impressed by the fact that the message gets sent the wrong way! This had so much potential to be an influential book, shame that it fell flat for you :/

    Alicia @ Summer Next Top Story

    • Yeah, I’m really disappointed by this book because I had heard a lot of good things about this book. But don’t forget that this is just my opinion of the book, you might not even agree with me after reading the book yourself. if you ever do end up reading the book, I’d love to hear your thoughts about it!

      Have a great day!

Say something!

