H2O the novel-Austin Boyd, Brannon Hollingsworth

H2O the Novel

H2O the novel

Austin Boyd, Brannon Hollingsworth
Living Ink Books
Pub Date: Nov 2 2011

 

 

 

 

My rating:
1 star book

H2O is a contemporary crossover women’s novel that tells the story of Kate Pepper, a successful young business woman in Seattle whose life is suddenly—and strangely—turned upside down. Unexplainable visions torment her every time she gets wet. Sinking into despair, frantic to avoid water at any cost, Kate ultimately finds romance and redemption through the advice of simple people who love her for who she is, not what she was.

Kate Pepper has it all . . . a razor-sharp intellect, perfect health, stunning beauty, a wildly successful career, and all the money she can spend. Or rather, she thinks she has it all.

Despite the perfect shell, there’s something dark inside Kate. Terrible visions send her into a deep depression and her world crumbles. All her business savvy and elite connections don’t make a difference; she has lost control.
Who will save her? Xavier, her predatory boyfriend? Or Candice, the Down syndrome waitress at her favorite coffee shop? At the bottom of her dark well, desperate to get out of the water, there’s nowhere to reach but up.

H2O—a fascinating allegorical look at success, sanity and spiritual redemption in a young woman’s relationship with water.

 

At first this book was quite alright, but then it took a turn for the worse and for me it didn’t get any better after that. Let me just start by saying that this is a novel which can be categorized as Christian, which I was not aware of. This is not a genre I would naturally go for and now that I read a book in this niche I am affirmed in this habit. I found the Christian beliefs just too prominently present in the story which hindered my connection with the book. I don’t have anything against Christianity but when I read a novel I am not looking for religious messages. There’s nothing wrong with the characters being religious or speaking of religion, but I just don’t want it to be one of the main themes in the book.

 

The main character was all right. She wasn’t my favorite character at all, but neither was she the worst I’ve ever read about. She was very materialistic and at first I thought this was just a trait to make her more interesting. It turned out to be part of the religious message that materialism isn’t a good thing at all. Another problem I had with her was that she so slowly realized that it was water that was giving her the visions and her reaction to that realization was just absurd. Perhaps I found that she realized this slowly because we already knew this fact before we even started reading the book. Perhaps if I had not known it would have bothered me less that it was such a late discovery. Her boyfriend was a jerk just to be a jerk in the story apparently. He didn’t really have a redeeming quality about himself which bothers me quite a lot. I didn’t really care for any of the other characters. What also seemed very strange to me was how easily the main character forgot about the people she called her friends.

 

I started with this book thinking there was going to be an epic explanation as to why she got all these visions whenever she came into contact with water. The title was perhaps even hinting to a sort of scientific/chemical reason as to why these visions are happening. Alas no, it was nothing even close to being scientifical, and it being Christian literature I’m sure your brain can make the same leap mine does. In my opinion this was a very lame explanation, especially seeing as I had expected the cause to be at least a little paranormal. Can I also just mention that I found the vision to be very boring? This has the same root as my disappointment in the explanation of the visions, it’s all so much unlike what I had expected. And sometimes it can be a lot of fun to read something that takes many twists and turns that you don’t see coming. In this case it wasn’t fun. There was just so little happening in these visions and I felt as if the whole scene around the vision was overdramatized.

 

Usually I never really talk about the ending of a book, but I thought perhaps I should do this more often. Don’t worry, I won’t spoil it for anyone. I just want to say that to me, the ending was very abrupt and it got very “preachy” as well. It was all implicit, the preachiness, but it was still present and definitely wasn’t for me.

All in all this book was a disappointment for me. The title and the synopsis made me expect a completely different book. This definitely led to me being let down by the contents of the story. I wasn’t a fan of the characters, nor the storyline.

Say something!

