Restaurant at the end of the universe – Douglas Adams (HHGTTG part 2)

RestaurantAtTheEndOfTheUniverse.jpg

Restaurant At the End of the Universe

Douglas Adams
Pan Books

Pub Date: 1 January 1980

 

 

 

 

 

 

My rating:

4-star-book_thumb1

Facing annihilation at the hands of the warlike Vogons is a curious time to have a craving for tea. It could only happen to the cosmically displaced Arthur Dent and his curious comrades in arms as they hurtle across space powered by pure improbabilityband desperately in search of a place to eat.
Among Arthur’s motley shipmates are Ford Prefect, a longtime friend and expert contributor to the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy; Zaphod Beeblebrox, the three-armed, two-headed ex-president of the galaxy; Tricia McMillan, a fellow Earth refugee who’s gone native (her name is Trillian now); and Marvin, the moody android who suffers nothing and no one very gladly. Their destination? The ultimate hot spot for an evening of apocalyptic entertainment and fine dining, where the food (literally) speaks for itself.
Will they make it? The answer: hard to say. But bear in mind that the Hitchhiker’s Guide deleted the term “Future Perfect” from its pages, since it was discovered not to be!

“What’s such fun is how amusing the galaxy looks through Adams’ sardonically silly eyes.”

 

This second part of the series I enjoyed just as much as the first one. Or perhaps even more because I knew what was coming. Just like the previous book in HHGTTG this is a very quick and very entertaining read. The characters felt exactly the same and I loved them more because of it. This new part of Arthur Dent’s adventure just kept me wanting more and I can’t wait to begin reading the next book!

This epic continuation of the story was so good. How good? Soooooo good! I loved the concept of the restaurant at the end of the universe. I mean, it’s just so great, who wouldn’t want to eat there? I mean, in a way it’s very confrontational but on the other hand it must be quite a show to behold. Once again it was explained in that certain style which makes you think it doesn’t all seem quite so implausible. But how crazy some of the things are in this book! I really love the extent of Douglas’ imagination. It seems to know no bounds, just like the universe itself. This story and all of its contents is nothing like anything I’ve ever read. And that is exactly what makes me love it so.

All of the characters from the previous book have made it into this one and just as well. They all have their very distinct personality and I love each and every one of them. I still have to say that Marvin is probably my favourite, just the concept of him is already amazingly fun. I love how he is a depressed robot and quite snarky at that. Then Arthur Dent, ever the typical Englishmen. Let’s not overlook Ford Perfect who is just so enthusiastic about anything and everything! Zaphod Beeblebrox is pretty crazy as well. He does a load of good things and even he rarely knows why. Trillian is more than just the female touch in  the story, she’s a brilliant mathematician and astrophysicist. Together they are a great bunch of characters and I hope they are all in all of the other books!

Now that I am already familiar with Douglas’ writing style I loved it all the more. I knew random seeming things were never as random as they could have been. I was constantly wondering how they would tie in with the story and what was left to come. I am constantly amazed at the crazy things he thought up for this book and I wished very much to be a part of this incredible journey. The perfect combination of wit and comedy make this book a real jewel to read.

 

For me this is definitely a five star book all the way. I can’t name anything about it that I don’t like. Which is why everybody should definitely give this a go. Even if sci-fi might not be your thing, this is still worth a go.

 

I’ll end with a quick quote from the book. You’ve probably seen floating about the internet already but now you finally know where it’s from!

“The story so far:
In the beginning the Universe was created.
This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.”

One thought on “Restaurant at the end of the universe – Douglas Adams (HHGTTG part 2)

  1. Pingback: 2013 in books | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

Say something!

