Geek Girl -Holly Smale

Geek Girl

Geek Girl

Holly Smale
HarperCollins Children’s Books
Pub Date: Feb 28 2013

 

 

 

My rating:
5 star book

Harriet Manners knows a lot of things.

She knows that a cat has 32 muscles in each ear, a "jiffy" lasts 1/100th of a second, and the average person laughs 15 times per day. What she isn’t quite so sure about is why nobody at school seems to like her very much. So when she’s spotted by a top model agent, Harriet grabs the chance to reinvent herself. Even if it means stealing her Best Friend’s dream, incurring the wrath of her arch enemy Alexa, and repeatedly humiliating herself in front of the impossibly handsome supermodel Nick. Even if it means lying to the people she loves.

As Harriet veers from one couture disaster to the next with the help of her overly enthusiastic father and her uber-geeky stalker, Toby, she begins to realise that the world of fashion doesn’t seem to like her any more than the real world did.

And as her old life starts to fall apart, the question is: will Harriet be able to transform herself before she ruins everything?

This is my general feeling about the book/ movie

 

This book was just an absolute hoot. I had so much fun reading this book, it’s hard to explain. And in fact I wasn’t sure I was going to enjoy reading this book before I ever started. I had heard a lot of good things about this book from people, but I’ve also seen some mediocre ratings of this book. And I guess I weighed the average ratings more than the better ones. But it was very foolish of me to do so, because I really enjoyed this book. It actually made me laugh out loud at times, which is something I rarely do while reading.

 

The characters were amazing. They were just so much fun to read about! I really liked Harriet, she was clever, funny and a bit awkward. It was such a nicely balanced mix of characteristics. She was not always awkward that it got painful or boring, she was never trying too hard to be funny, and het cleverness just shone through in a really enjoyable way (at least for me as a reader). I was also a really big fan of Harriet’s father as a character in the book, and Toby as well. Actually, all of the characters in the book spoke to me in one way or another which was really enjoyable.

 

Though it was not the most realistical of storylines, it was a highly enjoyable one. The story read very smoothly and though a lot of these things happened in a very short time span, which makes this story even more improbable, it also kept the reading pace very high. All the way through this book you want to know how Harriet handles the next step in this crazy adventure and how she will deal with an upcoming crisis. The only little downside of the book was that I found the ending to be pretty abrupt. In a way I didn’t mind, because I liked it. On the other had the book was just suddenly done. But I couldn’t find it in me to only give this book four stars just because of that, so a five star rating it is! And it has to be said, I really liked the moral of this book. It might not be the most original one out there, but it definitely sends a great message out to young girls (the prime audience for this book).

 

Even though I was perhaps a little outside of the intended reader demographic for this book, I still found it highly enjoyable and really do recommend it to anyone who feels like reading about a geeky girl who falls head over heals into an adventure she never dreamed she’d be in. If the synopsis speaks to you in any sort of way, please do pick up this book and let me know how you felt about it!

 

The synopsis and the image were taken from Goodreads.

2 thoughts on “Geek Girl -Holly Smale

  1. Pingback: 2013 in books | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

  2. Pingback: Review: Model Misfit–Holly Smale | Rantings, ravings and ramblings

Say something!

