The Facebook Diet – Gemini Adams +Chocolate-Covered Baloney -K.D. McCrite

The Facebook Diet: 50 Funny Signs of Facebook Addiction and Ways to Unplug with a Digital Detox

The Facebook Diet: 50 Funny Signs of Facebook Addiction and Ways to Unplug with a Digital Detox

Gemini Adams
Live Consciously Publishing
Pub Date: Apr 25 2013

 

My rating:
3 star book

Award-winning author and illustrator, Gemini Adams, inspires us to examine the health of our high-tech habits in this entertaining gift book with a tongue-in-cheek look at our love of social media.


Featuring a series of 50 hilarious cartoons that complete the question, "You Know You’re a Facebook Addict When…?" Adams cleverly illustrates the more idiotic, embarrassing and cringe-worthy behaviours of our social networking excess.

The funny digital detox tips gently ‘poke’ readers to unplug once in a while and consider taking The Facebook Diet.
Perfect for Facebook junkies everywhere!

 

This was an okay read. I enjoyed the cartoons but I did not connect to them at all. I admit that I’m on Facebook quite a bit but I just couldn’t relate at all to these signs of addiction. At times it just felt as if these signs were applicable to anything internet related and rarely Facebook specific. You could just replace Facebook with any site you regularly visit and it would usually still be as funny.

 

There were two sections in this book, the signs of addiction and the diet. Neither really impressed me. As mentioned before I didn’t have any of the signs, which just left me out of the demographic I suppose? But some of these jokes made me smile, so it was good. The diet portion didn’t entertain me at all. It didn’t even make me smile a little.

 

At the end of the day I had expected more humour and perhaps a little more depth to the humour as well. It all stayed pretty much on the surface and I tend to appreciate a bit more well thought-out humour. But it’s not bad either. And seeing as it takes about no time to read, you should if you think it might be up your alley.

 

Chocolate-Covered Baloney

Chocolate-Covered Baloney (Confessions of April Grace #3)

K.D. McCrite
Thomas Nelson Publishers
Pub Date: Nov 13 2012

 

 

 

 

My rating:
1 star book

The last thing April Grace wants is more change in her life–but that’s exactly what she gets! Plus, April has a new mystery to solve when Myra Sue starts sneaking around and acting very suspicious!

From snooty new neighbours to starting junior high to getting a new baby brother to having her "grandmother" get a boyfriend, April Grace has had enough change to last until she is at least 87 years old.

But when it rains, it pours, and April Grace is in for the ride of her life when her prissy, citified neighbour Isabel becomes her gym teacher and a long-lost relative suddenly reappears and throws everything into a tizzy. On top of that, April’s sister, Myra Sue, has been hiding something and sneaking around. April needs to find out what is going on before her silly sister gets herself into trouble again. More important, will April find the grace she needs to handle her topsy-turvy life and forgive past wrongs?

Girls will fall in love with April’s humour and completely relate to her as she deals with family, friends, drama, and both the humour and the heartache that are part of growing up.

 

I want to be upfront about the fact that I have not read any of the previous books in the series. But it didn’t feel as if I had missed out on something, so I think this book can be read apart from the series. Second fact: I didn’t finish reading this book. This book just wasn’t for me. I didn’t enjoy the characters, I didn’t enjoy the writing and the the story just started a bit too slow for me.

 

April Grace was not at all a girl after my own heart. I had no connection at all to her feelings, about anything. I wasn’t a fan of how she behaved nor her thought pattern. It just couldn’t hold my interest. April Grace doesn’t like her older sister much and her attitude towards her was pretty negative. Though I can understand not really liking your sister when you’re both young, the name calling just felt a bit overboard. I had some disputes with my sister back in the day, but she is still family and that always limited my negative feelings I guess. And there was just never that moment in which she did think nice things about her sister.

 

As for the writing, I’m not saying it was bad at all. But it didn’t pull me in either. The story was a bit of a slow starter in my opinion. The first thing to happen was the mystery of Myra Sue and what she was up to, but this couldn’t really hold my interest. I think this was mainly due to me disliking April Grace’s voice because I can see how that would get interesting. As for the rest of the storylines, I read a bit into the storyline with the grandmother, but once again I had the same problem.

 

In the end I just put this book down because I had the feeling that this book wasn’t for me. I’m pretty sure that my dislike of the narrator’s voice wouldn’t have allowed me to enjoin the story much either.

 

The Facebook diet synopsis came from Goodreads

The trailer for the Facebook Diet

The Chocolate-Covered Baloney synopsis came from Goodreads

Say something!

