Crow Girl- kate Cann + When Sorry Isn’t Enough: Making Things Right with Those You Love – Gary D Chapman, Jennifer M. Thomas

 

Today you get two shorter reviews for the price of one long one!

 

Crow Girl

Crow Girl

Kate Cann
Stoke Books
Pub Date: Sep 4 2012

 

 

 

 

My rating:
3 star book

Lily Stanfield is an outsider. Girls bully her and boys don’t notice she’s alive. But when she meets the crows in the Wakeless Woods, a new Lily is born… This is a high interest (ages 11 & up)/ low reading (4th grade) level book.
This book is targeted for reluctant or struggling readers or children with dyslexia.

 

I actually enjoyed this book, though it seems to have gotten some bad reviews on Goodreads. The story was nice, and contrary to some people on Goodreads, I couldn’t see these horrible morals they were referring to. I mean, yes there were some morals in this book, but I didn’t feel them to be as negative as some other readers. I think this book is just about finding your own place in school, with a good group of friends. Ok, granted, not all of them were as smoothly delivered as I wanted, yet I didn’t see much wrong with most of the morals. To me it just spoke about embracing who you are.

 

This book was very easy to read, seeing as it was meant for struggling readers, though sometimes the writing could have been a bit more descriptive. I mean, I know not everyone reads very fast and it’s great to try to encourage them to read more, but I don’t like it when this means there is very rarely any descriptive writing, about anything! It would just have made the book feel a bit more real to get some context we could visualize.

 

When Sorry Isn't Enough: Making Things Right with Those You Love

When Sorry Isn’t Enough: Making Things Right with Those You Love

Gary D Chapman, Jennifer M. Thomas
Northfield Publishing
Pub Date: May 1 2013

 

 

 

 

My rating:
1 star book

Relationships are fragile. And whether fractured by a major incident or a minor irritation, the ensuing emotions can often feel insurmountable preventing the relationship from moving forward or the offended from moving on. In order to make things right, something more than "sorry" is needed. #1 New York Times bestselling author Gary Chapman and Jennifer Thomas have teamed up to deliver this groundbreaking study of how we give and receive apologies. It’s not just a matter of will, but it’s a matter of how you say, "I’m sorry" that ultimately makes things right with those you love. This book will help you discover why certain apologies clear the path for emotional healing, reconciliation, and freedom, while others fall desperately short.

This is a genre of books I normally tend to leave on the shelves, but seeing as this was an e-galley, I thought, why not branch out a little? This was the wrong book for me to do this with. I haven’t finished reading this book, though I did really give it a chance. So I won’t be able to review the book as a whole and the complete message it contains. i can only talk about what I have read.

 

The writing was too lengthy for me. There was just too much blabla around the important points of the book. The author always used situations to describe what he wanted to say or just give background as to when certain things are necessary, and this isn’t a bad thing. I can see why someone would find these helpful, but there were just too many of them. it would have been nicer to have more to the point writing, interspersed with some situations. Most of this book is just a lot of situations.

Another thing that bothered me personally was that God was often used in these stories. I for one am not a believer, but I don’t mind if people do, not at all. I just think that the author could easily reach a bigger demographic by minimizing religion’s part in forgiveness. Forgiveness is something all people struggle with, whether they believe or not. If this subject was approached from a wider angle, more people might pick this up.

I did like the short quotes that were plentiful throughout the whole book. They really did catch the essence of what was being said in the text around them.

 

 

Synopsis Crow Girl was taken from Goodreads

Synopsis When Sorry Isn’t enough was taken from Goodreads 

Both of these books were received for free in return for an honest review

3 thoughts on “Crow Girl- kate Cann + When Sorry Isn’t Enough: Making Things Right with Those You Love – Gary D Chapman, Jennifer M. Thomas

  1. I enter Heidi’s giveaway and one of the tasks was to leave a message on this page … so “hi” :-)

    Nicoleta D.

Say something!

