13 Little Blue Envelopes (Little Blue Envelope #1)

13 Little Blue Envelopes (Little Blue Envelope, #1)

13 Little Blue Envelopes (Little Blue Envelope #1)

Maureen Johnson
HarperTeen
Pub Date: Aug 23 2005

 

 

 

 

My rating:
3 star book

 

When Ginny receives thirteen little blue envelopes and instructions to buy a plane ticket to London, she knows something exciting is going to happen. What Ginny doesn’t know is that she will have the adventure of her life and it will change her in more ways than one. Life and love are waiting for her across the Atlantic, and the thirteen little blue envelopes are the key to finding them in this funny, romantic, heartbreaking novel.

 

I’ve had it happen that a book is just as good as everyone says it is. This book wasn’t really one of them for me. Overall I really enjoyed it, but there were just some aspects of the book which bothered me. I like the general storyline, there are just things that happen and I have a hard time finding them believable. Because in my eyes they are going against what is said of the character.

 

Let’s start with the core concept of the book: Ginny following the trail these envelopes create which happens to be a journey her aunt made. That seems like a great place for a book to begin. But right of the bat I wondered, how does a seventeen year old girl convince her parents to allow her to go on this crazy trans-Atlantic adventure? We never find out. Other than that I don’t have any other problems with the story itself. it reads fairly quickly, it never gets boring or anything like that.

 

Ginny’s characters, that’s something that bothered me. In the book it is said that she is a shy girl, but so many things in the book seem to contradict this. And on top of that, I find that she really doesn’t think twice about most things that are happening all around her. I’m sorry, but that just seems weird. Because sometimes this trip is asking a lot of her, and she just goes with it. If it were me having received these envelopes I would have handled things so differently! I would have asked myself so many questions, and for the amount of answers Ginny did get I certainly would not have been satisfied. Seeing as Ginny is the main character and she was so contradictory, this did bother me quite a lot. And don’t even get me started on the love connection, I felt it was just a bit sudden, and once again it started with Ginny doing things that are far from shy.

 

Don’t get me wrong, it was a nice read. I read this book in about a day or two, and it was a lot of fun. As long as I didn’t think too much about all these things mentioned above. There’s just one thing that really, really bothered me as I read the book. I’m talking about what happens after she has read the twelfth letter. Don’t worry, I’m not going to spoil anything, but that was just not cool.

 

All in all, not a bad book but for me, it just wasn’t worth the hype.

Say something!

