Anna Dressed in Blood – Kendare Blake

Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, #1)

Anna Dressed in Blood

Kendare Blake
Orchard Books
Pub Date: July 5 2012

 

 

 

 

 

My rating:
5 star book

Just your average boy-meets-girl, girl-kills-people story…
Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.
So did his father before him, until his gruesome murder by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. Together they follow legends and local lore, trying to keep up with the murderous dead—keeping pesky things like the future and friends at bay.
When they arrive in a new town in search of a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas doesn’t expect anything outside of the ordinary: move, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, but now stained red and dripping blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.
And she, for whatever reason, spares his life.

 

I had heard so many good things about this book and everyone was describing it as a sort of thriller YA paranormal sort of book. And I knew right away that this was the book for me. Because I love YA, I love paranormal and I love thrillers. And this was just a great combination of the two. This story was refreshing with its storyline and I just needed that breath of fresh air in YA books. The storyline had me in its grip even after just reading the synopsis and the book had me from the word go. There were lots of different layers to this book, I found there was even a bit of that contemporary feel to it, which I really appreciated.

 

The story was so enthralling I had a lot of trouble putting this book down. I wasn’t even planning on reading this book so soon, I had other books that were a lot higher on my TBR list. But I couldn’t help myself from gravitating towards this book ever since it arrived. And I don’t regret it for a minute. I just loved this book, the story was just so… right. I don’t know how else to say it, it just felt so right to me. It was action-packed, it was funny, it was just so good!

 

Cas was a real treat to have as a narrator. He just had this great sense of humour and is such a bad-ass. Anna was also really great, you really got to see both sides of her, the girl that was killed and the ghost that had gone on this murderous tangent. And just pretty much every character that played a big role in the story was so fleshed out that it was just a joy to read about them.

 

My only problem with this book would be the romance part. It’s not that I don’t like a good romance, I really do. This romance was just a bit too superficial for me. Suddenly there were these supposed feelings and I just felt like they came out of nowhere. There was a little bit of work towards it, but for me there just wasn’t enough of it for it to become an actual thing. But this really wasn’t one of the leading plotlines, at least not in my eyes, so it didn’t bother me all that much.

 

 

In short, Anna Dressed in Blood had all the elements I love in books and it combined them beautifully. I definitely recommend this book to a fan of any of the genres (thriller, YA, paranormal, contemporary)

**This is the first time that I copy-pasted the synopsis from Goodreads. I usually write it myself, but I figured I could just not spend my time on that, instead I could spend it on reading more books and writing better reviews and work for school.

6 thoughts on “Anna Dressed in Blood – Kendare Blake

  1. SO glad you enjoyed it!! You know what’s silly is this book legitimately scared me haha. I am just terrified of ghosts for some reason. Really great review! :)

    • Thanks for the comment :) It’s nice to know you like my review :)
      i’m not really scared by ghosts, but they are so interesting to me!
      And I will definitely be checking out your blog!

Say something!

