Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares – Rachel Cohn, David Levithan

Dash & Lily's Book of Dares

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares

Rachel Cohn, David Levithan
Knopf Books
Pub Date: Oct 26 2010

 

 

 

 

 

My rating:
4 star book

Dash did everything within his power to be alone during Christmas break while Lily tried everything in the world to keep her parents home for the holidays. Dash has gotten what he wants, but Lily is left home alone with her brother and his boyfriend. Meanwhile Dash revels in the loneliness and goes to his favourite bookstore. And this is where a crazy adventure finds him in the form of a small notebook, daring him to accept the challenge it holds within its pages.

 

After hearing a lot of good things about this book I decided it was about time that I picked it up and gave it a go. I did not regret it one bit. The story was witty and it was great to read from the different perspectives. The book of dares was a lot of fun because it had dares on a lot of different levels which made it more alluring. The main characters found themselves in completely different situations but they started wondering about the same thing, namely: is the image you have of someone in your head ever really close to who they really are? Which is a very fascinating subject because we all have these ideas about other people without knowing who they really are. Who doesn’t wonder how accurate this idea is compared to the real deal?

 

The story moved along very nicely, divided in the chapters with Lily and Dash. The passing of the notebook was a great way to change the perspective and keep the story flowing. I really liked the writing but at times I did have to look up the definitions to certain words, what with dash’s fascination with special words. This didn’t really bother me so much, probably because I was reading this on my Kindle which has a built-in dictionary. Otherwise I think it might have annoyed me a little because I would have just read around the words without looking them up. And it’s never fun to read a book in which there are at least a dozen important words that you don’t understand. 

 

This is one of the first times that I wasn’t very much in love with the characters. There wasn’t anything at all wrong with them, they were very well rounded people, they seemed like realistic individuals. But they were just the kind of people I don’t think I would be friends with. And I love feeling like I could be a friend to the people I’m reading about. I had a hard time relating to certain sides of Lily’s character, just like I had with Dash’s personality. At times I found Lily to be very childish and Dash trying very hard to be mature while it clearly wasn’t working out very well. I get that they are both teenagers, I’m just pointing out that we probably wouldn’t be friends if they were in my class.

 

All in all I really liked the book but I can’t wholeheartedly say that I loved it as much as everyone seemed to love it. if you’re looking for an engaging contemporary book, pick this one up and give it a go!

Say something!

